FANDOM


  • A player who has priority may play a sorcery card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Playing a sorcery as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 409, “Playing Spells and Activated Abilities.”)
  • When a sorcery spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules text are followed. Then it’s put into its owner’s graveyard.
  • Sorcery subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Sorcery — Arcane.” Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. The set of sorcery subtypes is the same as the set of instant subtypes; these subtypes are called spell types. Sorceries may have multiple subtypes. (You can find the complete list of sorcery subtypes under “Spell Types” in the glossary at the end of this document.)
  • Sorceries can’t come into play. If a sorcery would come into play, it remains in its previous zone instead.
  • If a spell, ability, or effect states that a player can do something only “any time he or she could play a sorcery,” it means only that the player must have priority, it must be during the main phase of his or her turn, and the stack must be empty. The player doesn’t need to have a sorcery he or she could actually play.