FANDOM


  • Protection is a static ability, written “Protection from [quality].” This quality is usually a color (as in “protection from black”) but can be any characteristic value. If the quality is a card type, subtype, or supertype, the protection applies to sources that are permanents with that card type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not in play that are of that card type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 200.9.
  • A permanent or player with protection can’t be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can’t be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.
  • A permanent or player with protection can’t be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based effect. (See rule 420, “State-Based Effects.”)
  • A permanent with protection can’t be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent, but remain in play. (See rule 420, “State-Based Effects.”)
  • Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.
  • Attacking creatures with protection can’t be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.
  • Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.