From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Future Sight
Last Used Future Sight
Reminder Text Absorb N (If a source would deal damage to this creature, prevent N of that damage.)
Statistics 1 card
{W} 100%
Scryfall Search

Absorb is a damage prevention keyword ability, written as Absorb N, where N is any natural number. It prevents N damage from each single source that deals damage to the creature.

Description[edit | edit source]

Absorb was introduced in Future Sight. By its nature as a damage prevention ability, this is a white ability. It has only been printed on one card so far, the timeshifted Lymph Sliver.

This mechanic was inspired by a mechanic Wizards of the Coast had made for the Star Wars Trading Card Game called Armor.[1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (February 5, 2021—Kaldheim)

A keyword ability that prevents damage. See rule 702.63, “Absorb.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (February 5, 2021—Kaldheim)

  • 702.63. Absorb
    • 702.63a Absorb is a static ability. “Absorb N” means “If a source would deal damage to this creature, prevent N of that damage.”
    • 702.63b Each absorb ability can prevent only N damage from any one source at any one time. It will apply separately to damage from other sources, or to damage dealt by the same source at a different time.
    • 702.63c If an object has multiple instances of absorb, each applies separately.

Example[edit | edit source]


Lymph Sliver {4}{W}
Creature — Sliver
All Sliver creatures have absorb 1. (If a source would deal damage to a Sliver, prevent 1 of that damage.)

  1. Mark Rosewater (August 10, 2020). "Back to the Future Sight, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.