MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Activate
Keyword Action
Introduced Alpha (mechanic)
Sixth Edition (keyword)
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Activate"

Activate is a keyword action. One of the big things the Sixth Edition rules change did was to try to consolidate how Magic card text referred to things. The game had always had activated abilities, but it wasn't until then that it got its own vocabulary word.[1]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Activate
To put an activated ability onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. See rule 602, “Activating Activated Abilities.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 701.2. Activate
    • 701.2a To activate an activated ability is to put it onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Only an object’s controller (or its owner, if it doesn’t have a controller) can activate its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. A player may activate an ability if they have priority. See rule 602, “Activating Activated Abilities.”

References[]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
Advertisement