MTG Wiki
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Ravnica Allegiance
Last Used Ravnica Allegiance
Reminder Text Afterlife N (When this creature dies, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token(s) with flying.)
10 cards
{W} 40% {B} 30% {W/B} 30%
Scryfall Search

Afterlife is a keyword ability found on creatures. Similar to Doomed Traveler from Innistrad, and potentially named after Afterlife, it was introduced as a mechanic in Ravnica Allegiance for the Orzhov Syndicate.[1][2]


Afterlife is a triggered ability and includes a number. When the creature with afterlife dies it creates that number of 1/1 black and white Spirit creature token with flying.

Afterlife triggers only when the creature dies, meaning "goes to the graveyard from the battlefield." If it's exiled directly from the battlefield or similar, afterlife won't trigger.


From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

A keyword ability that leaves behind Spirit creature tokens when certain creatures die. See rule 702.135, “Afterlife.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.135. Afterlife
    • 702.135a Afterlife is a triggered ability. “Afterlife N” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature tokens with flying.”
    • 702.135b If a permanent has multiple instances of afterlife, each triggers separately.


  • Because blockers are chosen all at once, you can't block with a creature with afterlife, wait for it to die, then block with the resulting Spirit tokens.



Imperious Oligarch {W}{B}
Creature — Human Cleric
Afterlife 1 (When this creature dies, create a 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token with flying.)


  1. Matt Tabak (December 17, 2018). "Ravnica Allegiance Mechanics". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (January 2, 2019). "Building Allegiances, Part 1". Wizards of the Coast.