|(Subtype for enchantment cards)|
|Rules||Enchant [object or player]|
0.2% 22.4% 24.4% 18.8% 14.3% 15.7% 1.2% 0.5% 0.2% 0.2% 0.5% 0.3% 0.2% 0.2% 0.5% 0.5%
Aura is an enchantment type that has the text "enchant [type or player; restriction]". Formerly, Auras were known as "local enchantments" or "enchant [type]" cards. Auras are unique among evergreen permanents as being the only type that requires a target to cast and resolve (like instants and sorceries do), shared only with the unusual mechanic Mutate. The name was introduced in Ninth Edition.
Auras have many uses on many types, bestowing continuous effects, sets up triggers, or have their own activated abilities. Some Auras, like Pacifism, can be considered removal spells in disguise. Other Auras enhance the creature they're enchanting.
Putting an Aura on one of your creatures opens you up to getting two-for-one'd. Any removal spell could remove two of your cards: both the creature and the Aura on it. A bounce spell can also put the Aura into the graveyard, making it "fall off", costing both the Aura spell and the mana spent on both cards. This makes the use of Auras a significant risk when used as an aggressive card. Many of these risks also apply when using Auras as removal: the creature is left on the battlefield, with some abilities still active, ripe for sacrificing or for other costs like crewing Vehicles. White and Blue are the colors most inclined to use Auras as removal effects.
- An enchantment subtype. Aura spells target objects or players, and Aura permanents are attached to objects or players. See rule 303, “Enchantments,” and rule 702.5, “Enchant.”
- 303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype “Aura.” An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is defined by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
- 303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.
- 303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player.
- 303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
- 303.4d An Aura can’t enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. An Aura that’s also a creature can’t enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner’s graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura can’t enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Aura’s controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.
- 303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesn’t change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Aura’s controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with “gains” or “has”), the enchanted object’s controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
- 303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player’s control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn’t specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
- 303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.
- 303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.
- 303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield attached to an object or player it can’t legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. If the Aura is a token, it isn’t created.
- 303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it can’t legally enchant, the Aura doesn’t move.
- 303.4k If an effect allows an Aura that’s being turned face up to become attached to an object or player, the Aura’s controller considers the characteristics of that Aura as it would exist if it were face up to determine what it may be attached to, and they must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
- 303.4m An ability of a permanent that refers to the “enchanted [object or player]” refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isn’t an Aura.
- 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.
|Token Name||Color||Type Line||P/T||Text Box||Source||Printings|
|Mask||White||Enchantment — Aura||Enchant permanent
|Token Name||Color||Type Line||P/T||Text Box||Source||Printings|
|Pacifism||White||Enchantment — Aura||Enchant creature
Enchanted creature can’t attack or block.
- Mark Gottlieb (July 29, 2005). "Aura Hygiene". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (June 7, 2010). "Disadvantaged". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Tom LaPille (June 11, 2010). "Potpaurai". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Doug Beyer (June 9, 2010). "Auratouched Magery". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Gavin Verhey (May 24, 2017). "Enhancing Your Game". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.