MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Blitz
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Static (2nd ability)
Static (3rd ability)
Introduced Streets of New Capenna
Last Used Streets of New Capenna
Reminder Text Blitz [cost] (If you cast this spell for its blitz cost, it gains haste and "When this creature dies, draw a card". Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.)
Statistics
15 cards
{B} 26.7% {R} 40% {G} 26.7% {M} 6.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Blitz"

Blitz is a keyword ability introduced in Streets of New Capenna as the signature Riveteers mechanic. It is an alternative cost.[1]

Description[]

Blitz is the mechanic for the Riveteers, the {B}{R}{G} family on New Capenna. Industrious and tough as nails, the Riveteers never shy away from a fight, and blitz gets you into the action without delay.

Blitz is an ability on permanents that allows the player to play the card for an alternative cost. As you cast a spell with the Blitz ability, you can cast it normally for its mana cost, or you can choose to cast it for its blitz cost".

Casting a spell for its blitz cost has several effects. The creature gains haste and "When this creature dies, draw a card." You won't have to wait too long for that card, because at the beginning of the next end step, you sacrifice the creature.

The triggered ability that has you draw a card will trigger no matter how or when the creature dies. If it doesn't survive combat, you'll get the card in time to cast it in your postcombat main phase. The creature doesn't have to make it all the way to the end step and be sacrificed, though it does have to die. If it gets bounced or exiled, you won't draw a card.

Blitz is a tweaked version of Dash, and was called "Bash" during design.[2][3]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Blitz
A keyword ability found on creature cards that allows them to be cast for an alternative cost. See rule 702.152, “Blitz.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.152. Blitz
    • 702.152a Blitz represents three abilities: two static abilities that function while the card with blitz is on the stack, one of which may create a delayed triggered ability, and a static ability that functions while the object with blitz is on the battlefield. “Blitz [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost,” “If this spell’s blitz cost was paid, sacrifice the permanent this spell becomes at the beginning of the next end step,” and “As long as this permanent’s blitz cost was paid, it has haste and ‘When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw a card.’” Casting a spell for its blitz cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Rulings[]

  • The mana value of a card doesn't change when you cast it for its blitz cost.
  • If you choose to pay the blitz cost rather than the mana cost, you're still casting the spell.[4] It goes on the stack and can be responded to and countered. You can cast a creature spell for its blitz cost only if you could cast that creature spell. Most of the time, this means during your main phase when the stack is empty.
  • If you pay the blitz cost to cast a creature spell, that permanent will be sacrificed only if it's still on the battlefield when that triggered ability resolves. If it dies or goes to another zone before then, it will stay where it is.
  • You don't have to attack with the creature with blitz unless another ability says you do.
  • If a creature enters the battlefield as a copy of or becomes a copy of a creature whose blitz cost was paid, the copy won't have haste, won't be sacrificed, and its controller won't draw a card when it dies.
  • The triggered ability that lets its controller draw a card triggers when it dies for any reason, not just when you sacrifice it during the end step.

Examples[]

Example

Jaxis, the Troublemaker {3}{R}
Legendary Creature — Human Warrior
2/3
{R}, {T}, Discard a card: Create a token that’s a copy of another target creature you control. It gains haste and “When this creature dies, draw a card.” Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step. Activate only as a sorcery.
Blitz {1}{R} (If you cast this spell for its blitz cost, it gains haste and “When this creature dies, draw a card.” Sacrifice it at the beginning of the next end step.)

Cards that Grant Blitz[]

References[]

Advertisement