MTG Wiki
Keyword Action
Introduced Revised Edition
Last Used Weatherlight
Reminder Text Bury (Destroy [something]. It can't be regenerated.)
Scryfall Search

Bury is an obsolete keyword action. The term was introduced in Revised, and removed from the vocabulary of Magic in the Tempest set and Sixth Edition.[1][2]

All cards that used the term were given errata in the Oracle card reference to instead read "Destroy [something]. It can't be regenerated," or "Sacrifice [something]."


From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Bury (Obsolete)
A term that meant “put [a permanent] into its owner’s graveyard.” In general, cards that were printed with the term “bury” have received errata in the Oracle card reference to read, “Destroy [a permanent]. It can’t be regenerated,” or “Sacrifice [a permanent].”


After Revised Edition and prior to the rule change, the 5th Edition wording of Wrath of God was as follows:

Example 1

Wrath of God (5th Edition) {2}{W}{W}
Bury all creatures.

Example 2

Wrath of God (6th Edition) {2}{W}{W}
Destroy all creatures. They can’t be regenerated.

Wrath of God received errata after Tempest was released to read "Destroy all creatures. Those creatures cannot be regenerated this turn", but was further simplified in 6th Edition to the wording we use today.


Some cards used "bury" as a general term for putting something into a player's graveyard, usually by sacrificing it. These cards received errata to indicate exactly what was to be done with them. For example, Urborg Justice and Call of the Wild from Weatherlight used "bury" to indicate two different things; they received errata to state specifically what.


  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Wizards of the Coast (February, 2002). "Ask Wizards - February, 2002". Wizards of the Coast.