MTG Wiki
Advertisement

Bushido
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Champions of Kamigawa
Last used Unfinity
Reminder Text Bushido N (Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of turn.)
Storm Scale 8[1]
Statistics
38 cards
{W} 52.6% {B} 15.8% {R} 23.7% {G} 5.3% {artifact symbol} 2.6%
Scryfall Search
keyword:"Bushido"

Bushido (boo-SHEE-doh)[2] is a triggered keyword ability that makes creatures bigger if they block or are blocked.

History[ | ]

Bushido appeared in the Kamigawa block as an ability associated with the Samurai creature type, and the ability has only appeared on Samurai creature cards, with the exception of Greater Morphling from the silver-bordered (and therefore tournament-illegal) Unhinged set. Some cards from other sets (such as Chub Toad from Ice Age) have similar abilities but do not use the bushido keyword.

Takeno, Samurai General is a mechanic lord for Bushido, and uniquely refers to the points of the mechanic. No other card in Magic refers to "point" in this context.

Bushido, renamed Chivalry, was considered as a knight mechanic for Throne of Eldraine.[3] It was also considered for the return set Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty, but was relegated as an unworded mechanic on one card, Jukai Trainee. It was found the mechanic had issues in volume as it made attacking difficult, and that tended to manifest in board stalls.

Bushido was one of the non-evergreen, non-deciduous keywords included in the Unfinity sticker sheets.

Rules[ | ]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

Bushido
A keyword ability that can make a creature better in combat. See rule 702.45, “Bushido.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 702.45. Bushido
    • 702.45a Bushido is a triggered ability. “Bushido N” means “Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of turn.” (See rule 509, “Declare Blockers Step.”)
    • 702.45b If a creature has multiple instances of bushido, each triggers separately.

Rulings[ | ]

  • The bushido ability doesn't care how many creatures are blocking the creature with bushido. For example, a creature with bushido 1 that's blocked by three creatures still gets only +1/+1.[4]

Examples[ | ]

Example 1

Devoted Retainer {W}
Creature — Human Samurai
1/1
Bushido 1 (Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)

Example 2

Inner-Chamber Guard {1}{W}
Creature — Human Samurai
0/2
Bushido 2 (Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +2/+2 until end of turn.)

Cards that grants Bushido[ | ]

Creature

Sticker

References[ | ]

Advertisement