MTG Wiki
Advertisement

Case
Case
Enchantment Type
(Subtype for enchantment cards)
Statistics
15 cards
{C} 6.7% {W} 20% {U} 26.7% {B} 13.3% {R} 20% {G} 13.3%
Scryfall Search
type:"Case"

Case is an enchantment type introduced in Murders at Karlov Manor.[1][2] They represent mysteries to solve, and thus far all begin their name with "Case of the...", like classic detective stories. They are the third card type to use the vertical art and rules text design.

Description[ | ]

Cases are a variation on Sagas and Classes that take after the design of Quests, but with integrated rules rather than using quest counters.

Solved

Case Solved indicator

Cases have three abilities, listed from top to bottom. The first ability is a standard ability, which has no additional rules attached to it. This ability is always active for its controller, regardless of whether or not the case is solved.

The second ability is the "To solve" ability: it lists an intervening "if" condition for the player to achieve. The "to solve" ability triggers during its controllers end step but only if the condition has been met. Spelt out, it would read "At the beginning of your end step, if [condition], this Case is solved".

The third ability is the "Solved" ability, which only takes effect if the case is marked as "solved". These implicitly have "Activate this ability only if [card name] is solved." or "[trigger condition], if [card name] is solved, [effect]". While players may mark these enchantments with counters to remind themselves of these changes of state, being solved is a designation that is either true or not and does not rely on external markers, much like Classes.

A punch card with "Case Solved" indicators appears in booster packs for Murders at Karlov Manor.[3]

Rules[ | ]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

Case
An enchantment subtype. Cases have a “to solve” ability that set a condition its controller must meet in order for the “solved” ability to take effect. See rule 719, “Case Cards.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 719. Case Cards
    • 719.1. Each Case card’s illustration is vertically oriented on the left side of the card, and its type line is along the bottom of the card.
    • 719.2. The Case frame has no additional rules meaning.
    • 719.3. Case cards have two special keyword abilities that appear before a long dash and represent a triggered ability and an ability that may be static, triggered, or activated.
      • 719.3a “To solve — [Condition]” means “At the beginning of your end step, if [condition] and this Case is not solved, this Case becomes solved.”
      • 719.3b Solved is a designation a permanent can have. It has no rules meaning other than to act as a marker that spells and abilities can identify. Once a permanent becomes solved, it stays solved until it leaves the battlefield. The solved designation is neither an ability nor part of the permanent’s copiable values.
      • 719.3c If a Case has the solved designation, “Solved — [Ability text]” is an ability that may affect the game if it’s a static ability, it may trigger if it’s a triggered ability, and it can be activated if it’s an activated ability. See rule 702.169, “Solved.”

Rulings[ | ]

Case of the Pilfered Proof

Case of the Pilfered Proof card.

  • The first ability of a Case is always active.
  • Each Case has two special keyword abilities: to solve and solved.[4]
  • "To Solve — [condition]" means "At the beginning of your end step, if [condition] and this Case is not solved, it becomes solved."
  • The meaning of "solved" differs based on what type of ability follows it. "Solved — [activated ability]" means "[Activated ability]. Activate only if this Case is solved." Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]."
  • To solve a Case, its "to solve" condition must be true both as its controller's end step begins and as the "to solve" ability tries to resolve.
  • "Solved — [Triggered ability]" means "[Triggered ability]. This ability triggers only if this Case is solved." Triggered abilities use the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They're often written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]."
  • "Solved — [static ability]" means "As long as this Case is solved, [static ability]." Static abilities are written as statements, such as "Creatures you control get +1/+1" or "Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost {1} less to cast."
  • "To solve" abilities will check for their condition twice: once when the ability would trigger, and once when it resolves. If the condition isn't true at the beginning of your end step, the ability won't trigger at all. If the condition isn't true when the ability resolves, the Case won't become solved.
  • Once a Case becomes solved, it stays solved until it leaves the battlefield.
    • As long as it's solved, its "to solve" ability won't trigger again.
    • A Case remains solved even if another player gains control of it.
  • Cases don't lose their other abilities when they become solved.
  • Being solved is not part of a permanent's copiable values. A permanent that becomes a copy of a solved Case is not solved. A solved Case that somehow becomes a copy of a different Case stays solved.
  • An unsolved Case will check if it has been solved on each turn it is in play, not just the turn it was cast.[5]

References[ | ]

Advertisement