MTG Wiki
Advertisement
MTG Wiki
6,148
pages
Cast
Keyword Action
Introduced Alpha
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Cast"

Cast is a keyword action. It was introduced in Alpha but temporary replaced with Play in the Sixth Edition rules changes and then reinstated in Magic 2010.[1] When you cast a spell, you take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.

"When you cast"[]

A few cards have abilities that trigger when they are cast, as opposed to when they enter the battlefield. This means that countering the spell will not prevent the triggered ability from occurring. Likewise, countering the ability will not prevent the spell from resolving. Cascade, replicate, and storm are all triggered abilities that trigger when the spell with them is cast. Abilities triggered that way are put on stack above the spell, meaning that the abilites resolve before the spell does. Many Eldrazi cards also feature abilities that trigger when they’re cast.[2]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 24, 2021—Innistrad: Midnight Hunt)

Cast
To take a card from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (September 24, 2021—Innistrad: Midnight Hunt)

  • 701.4. Cast
    • 701.4a To cast a spell is to take it from the zone it’s in (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. A player may cast a spell if they have priority. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
    • 701.4b To cast a card is to cast it as a spell.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 24, 2021—Innistrad: Midnight Hunt)

Successfully Cast (Obsolete)
A term that was printed on some older cards. In general, cards that referred to a spell being “successfully cast” have received errata in the Oracle card reference to simply refer to a spell being “cast.”

References[]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Wizards of the Coast (July 8, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
Advertisement