|This article is a Article Stub that is short and needs improvement. . |
You can help Magic: The Gathering Wiki by expanding it.
Champion is a keyword ability.
- 702.71a Champion represents two triggered abilities. “Champion an [object]” means “When this permanent enters the battlefield, sacrifice it unless you exile another [object] you control” and “When this permanent leaves the battlefield, return the exiled card to the battlefield under its owner’s control.”
- 702.71b The two abilities represented by champion are linked. See rule 607, “Linked Abilities.”
- 702.71c A permanent is “championed” by another permanent if the latter exiles the former as the direct result of a champion ability.