MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Choose a Background
Keyword Action
Introduced Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate
Last Used Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate
Reminder Text Choose a background (You can have a Background as a second commander.)
Statistics
12 cards
{W} 33.3% {U} 16.7% {B} 8.3% {R} 16.7% {G} 25%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Choose a Background"

Choose a Background is a keyword action introduced in Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate, together with the Background legendary enchantment subtype. You can have a Background as a second commander.

Description[]

"Choose a Background" only appears on monocolored legendary creatures. By choosing a Background, they can be customized to be your Commander.[1]

A Background adds extra abilities to your Commander, and changes their color identity. It functions similar to Partner, modifying the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant, and functioning before the game begins. Rather than a single legendary creature card, you may designate a legendary creature card in combination with a Background as your Commander(s).

References[]

Advertisement