MTG Wiki
Keyword Action
Introduced Unstable
Last Used Unsanctioned
Reminder Text Combine two cards (Its power is equal to their total power, its toughness is equal to their total toughness, and it has their names, mana costs, types, text boxes, etc.)
18 cards
{W} 27.8% {U} 5.6% {B} 16.7% {R} 5.6% {G} 22.2% {B/R} 5.6% {G/W} 5.6% {artifact symbol} 11.1%
Scryfall Search

Combine is a keyword action featured in Unstable and means to turn two cards into one (onto the battlefield).[1] It is primarily associated with the augment mechanic, which allows a host and an augment to be combined into one creature. Grusilda, Monster Masher allows players to combine non-host, non-augment creatures.


The combination result is a new card with power equal to the addition of their powers. The same goes for their toughness, and it has their names, mana costs, types, text boxes, etc.


  • I was just thinking it would be cool to combine creatures to make even more awesome creatures. Does Unstable have anything like that?
    • That's a weird question...but yes! You're looking for host creatures and creatures with the new augment ability.
  • Sweet. How does that work?
    • Host creatures are fairly normal. They each have an ability that triggers when it enters the battlefield. They attack. They block. Fairly normal.
  • Sounds boring. Can we do science?
    • Yes, we can. Creatures with augment don't have a mana cost and can't be cast. What they can be is combined with host creatures to form a new single creature.
  • Fantastic! What does the science do?
    • The creature with augment will change the creature's name as well as its power and toughness. It may also add some abilities and a color. It'll also change that enters-the-battlefield ability by giving it a new way to work. Now that ability is repeatable.
  • How do I science?
    • Augment is an activated ability that works while the card is in your hand. To activate it, reveal the card, pay the augment cost, and choose a host creature as a target. When the ability resolves, combine the augment creature with the host creature.
  • Science for everyone?
    • No, you can't augment onto creatures unless they are host creatures. I know Half-Kitten, Serra Angel might seem like a good idea, but that way lies madness. Sorry.
  • What if the science fails? Say I activate augment and in response my opponent destroys the host? What happens?
    • The creature with augment isn't put onto the battlefield until the ability resolves. This means if the host is destroyed, the creature with augment stays in your hand. You can't choose a different host, but you can activate augment again if there's another host available.
  • Can I activate augment if I don't have a host creature on the battlefield?
    • You can't activate augment unless there is a host creature on the battlefield. It doesn't need to be yours. Note though that if you augment another player's host creature, they control the combined creature.
  • Can I put more than one augment card on a single host creature?
    • No. Once a host creature is augmented, the host part gets covered up and it's no longer a host creature. Only one augment per host.
  • Once I have a combined augment and host, how does the game treat the combined creature?
    • The game can see basically anything visible. Augment can (and usually does) change the name, card types, subtypes, rules text, and power/toughness. The combined creature will have (at least) two artists and may now have multiple colors. Anything covered up in the augment process doesn't count, so ignore things to the left of the "metal bar" in the art of host creatures.
  • Are cards with augment considered creature cards?
    • They are. If something asks you to discard a creature card, you may discard a card with augment. But they can't exist by themselves on the battlefield. If you somehow put a card with augment onto the battlefield without actually augmenting it, it will head to the graveyard.
  • Let's say I have a combined creature and I have to sacrifice a creature. Can I sacrifice just the augment card?
    • Rip the Ninja Kitten in half? Are you mad?! No. Once a creature is combined, both cards form a single creature. What happens to the creature happens to both cards. (If it's put into a specific part of your library, you choose the relative order of the two cards.)
  • Can I make a Half-Kitten, Half-Kitten?
    • Absolutely. I hear they make great pets.

See also[]


  1. Mark Rosewater (November 22, 2017). "Unstable FAQAWASLFAQPAFTIDAWABIAJTBT". Wizards of the Coast.