MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Compleated
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
Last Used Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty
Reminder Text Compleated ([Phyrexian hybrid mana] can be paid with M, N, or 2 life. If life was paid, this planeswalker enters with two fewer loyalty counters.)
Statistics
1 card
{G/U} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Compleated"

Compleated is a keyword ability introduced in Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty.[1]

Description[]

Compleated is the first Planeswalker-only keyword ability[2], and is associated with Phyrexian hybrid mana. If part of the mana cost is paid with Life instead of Mana, the Planeswalker enters with less Loyalty counters.

So far, Compleated has only appeared on Tamiyo, Compleated Sage.

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Compleated
A keyword ability that causes a planeswalker to enter the battlefield with fewer loyalty counters if a player chose to pay life for Phyrexian mana symbols in its cost. See rule 702.150, “Compleated.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.150. Compleated
    • 702.150a Compleated is a static ability found on some planeswalker cards. Compleated means “If this permanent would enter the battlefield with one or more loyalty counters on it and the player who cast it chose to pay life for any part of its cost represented by Phyrexian mana symbols, it instead enters the battlefield with that many loyalty counters minus two for each of those mana symbols.”

Rulings[]

  • Compleated is a replacement effect, but it applies only to a permanent that is entering the battlefield with loyalty counters. Any other replacement effect that would apply to the number of loyalty counters it enters the battlefield with will apply as normal.
  • The compleated ability looks only at whether a player chose to pay 2 life for a Phyrexian mana symbol as they were casting the spell. If a player paid life for some other reason while casting the spell, that will not reduce the number of loyalty counters the planeswalker enters the battlefield with.

References[]

Advertisement