MTG Wiki

MTGA Connive
Keyword Action
Introduced Streets of New Capenna
Last used Modern Horizons 3
Reminder Text Connive N (Draw N cards, then discard N cards. Put a +1/+1 counter on this creature for each nonland card discarded this way.)
Connive (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)
Storm Scale 4[1]
23 cards
{W} 8.7% {U} 39.1% {B} 21.7% {U/B} 4.3% {M} 26.1%
Scryfall Search

Connive is a keyword action introduced in Streets of New Capenna as the signature Obscura mechanic.[2]

Description[ | ]

Connive is the mechanic for the Obscura, the {W}{U}{B} family on New Capenna. The Obscura use magic to manipulate and distract, always looking for a more advantageous position. Connive can put you in a more advantageous position, both in terms of creature strength and hand quality.

If a creature you control is instructed to connive, you draw a card and discard a card. This might help you find the land you need, or later in the game might let you trade away an unneeded land while getting to your game-ending threats a little quicker. If you discard a nonland card, you put a +1/+1 counter on the creature that connived.

A creature can connive even if it's not still on the battlefield. So, if e.g. Psychic Pickpocket dies in response to its own triggered ability, you'll still get to draw and discard. Its ability to bounce a nonland permanent also happens, as it is one ability with a reflexive trigger on the connive.

Connive functions similarly to Explore, with the player making the decisions for the action, while the creature performing the ability is the recipient of its counters.[3] It exchanges the chance of raw card advantage for a much greater degree of agency in the outcome.

Connive N[ | ]

Connive N is a variant of connive. If a creature connives N, its controller will draw N cards, discard N cards, then put a number of +1/+1 counters on the conniving permanent equal to the number of nonland cards discarded this way.[4]

History[ | ]

Connive was reused in Transformers, Lost Caverns Commander and Modern Horizons 3.

Rules[ | ]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

A keyword action that causes a player to draw a card, discard a card, and then to put a +1/+1 counter on a creature if a nonland card was discarded this way. See rule 701.47, “Connive.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 701.47. Connive
    • 701.47a Certain abilities instruct a permanent to connive. To do so, that permanent’s controller draws a card, then discards a card. If a nonland card is discarded this way, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the conniving permanent.
    • 701.47b A permanent “connives” after the process described in rule 701.47a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.
    • 701.47c If a permanent changes zones before an effect causes it to connive, its last known information is used to determine which object connived and who controlled it.
    • 701.47d If multiple permanents are instructed to connive at the same time, the first player in APNAP order who controls one or more of those permanents chooses one of them and it connives. Then if any permanents remain on the battlefield which have been instructed to connive and have not done so, this process is repeated.
    • 701.47e Connive N is a variant of connive. The permanent’s controller draws N cards, discards N cards, then puts a number of +1/+1 counters on the permanent equal to the number of nonland cards discarded this way.

Rulings[ | ]

  • Once an ability that causes a creature to connive begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done.[4] Notably, opponents can't try to remove the conniving creature after you discard a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
  • If no card is discarded, most likely because that player's hand is empty and an effect says they can't draw cards, the conniving creature does not receive a +1/+1 counter.
  • If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to connive but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still connives. If you discard a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything. Abilities that trigger "when [that creature] connives" will trigger.

Examples[ | ]


Ledger Shredder {1}{U}
Creature — Bird Advisor
Whenever a player casts their second spell each turn, Ledger Shredder connives (Draw a card, then discard a card. If you discarded a nonland card, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.).

Trivia[ | ]

References[ | ]

  1. Mark Rosewater (2024-02-26). "Where is Connive on the Storm scale?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
  2. Matt Tabak (April 7, 2022). "Streets of New Capenna Mechanics". Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Mark Rosewater (April 11, 2022). "Hitting the Streets of New Capenna, Part 2". Wizards of the Coast.
  4. a b Wizards of the Coast (April 20, 2022). "Streets of New Capenna Release Notes". Wizards of the Coast.