Static (1st ability)|
Triggered (2nd ability)
|Reminder Text||Conspire (As you cast this spell, you may tap two untapped creatures you control that share a color with it. When you do, copy it and you may choose a new target for the copy.)|
9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 9.1% 18.2% 9.1%
Conspire is a keyword ability that allows the spell cast to be copied if you tap two untapped creatures that share a color with that spell. Conspire was introduced in Shadowmoor. By 2010, it was considered a design failure.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that creates a copy of a spell. See rule 702.78, “Conspire.”
- 702.78. Conspire
- 702.78a Conspire is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the spell with conspire is on the stack. The second is a triggered ability that functions while the spell with conspire is on the stack. “Conspire” means “As an additional cost to cast this spell, you may tap two untapped creatures you control that each share a color with it” and “When you cast this spell, if its conspire cost was paid, copy it. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for the copy.” Paying a spell’s conspire cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
- 702.78b If a spell has multiple instances of conspire, each is paid separately and triggers based on its own payment, not any other instance of conspire.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- If you choose to pay a conspire cost of a multicolored spell, the two creatures you tap don't need to share a color with each other. Each one just needs to share a color with the spell that has conspire.
- You may pay a spell's conspire cost only once. (If a spell has multiple instances of conspire, you may pay each conspire cost only once.)
- A copy created with conspire will have a conspire ability itself. However, since that copy wasn't cast, its conspire ability won't trigger. You won't get another copy.
- The copy you create with conspire is separate from the original spell. If either one of them is countered, the other remains on the stack.
- If conspire's triggered ability is countered (by the Scourge spell Stifle, for example), no copy will be created. The original spell will be unaffected.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Put target attacking or blocking creature on top of its owner's library.
Conspire (As you cast this spell, you may tap two untapped creatures you control that share a color with it. When you do, copy it and you may choose a new target for the copy.)
Creature that grants Conspire[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- A Planeswalker's Primer for Shadowmoor 4: Conspire (Video). Magic: The Gathering. YouTube.