|Introduced||Conspiracy: Take the Crown|
|Last Used||Conspiracy: Take the Crown|
|Typical Text||Council's dilemma — ... starting with you, each player votes for ...|
16.7% 33.3% 16.7% 33.3%
Council's dilemma is an ability word found in the multiplayer Conspiracy: Take the Crown set. It is similar to will of the council in that it calls for all players to vote on an effect. Unlike with the earlier mechanic, every vote will add to the overall effect (not only the majority).
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Because the votes are cast in turn order, each player will know the votes of players who voted beforehand.
- You must vote for one of the available options. You can’t abstain.
- No player votes until the spell or ability resolves. Any responses to that spell or ability must be made without knowing the outcome of the vote.
- Players can’t do anything after they finishing voting but before the spell or ability that included the vote finishes resolving.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Council's dilemma — Starting with you, each player votes for death or taxes. Each opponent sacrifices a creature for each death vote and discards a card for each taxes vote.
References[edit | edit source]
- Matt Tabak (August 15, 2016). "Conspiracy: Take the Crown Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Shawn Main (August 15, 2016). "The Heart of a Conspiracy". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (August 22, 2016). "Conspiracy: Take the Crown Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.