Static (1st ability)|
Static (2nd ability)
Static (3rd ability)
|Last Used||Modern Horizons|
|Reminder Text||Dash [cost] (You may cast this spell for its dash cost. If you do, it gains haste, and it's returned from the battlefield to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step.)|
36.8% 52.6% 5.3% 5.3%
Dash is a keyword ability on permanents that allows the player to play the card for an alternative cost. When you pay its dash cost instead of paying its mana cost, the creature will have haste, so it can attack that turn. At the beginning of the next end step, you'll return the creature from the battlefield to its owner's hand.
Description[edit | edit source]
Dash was introduced in Fate Reforged where it replaced Raid from Khans of Tarkir as the mechanic associated with the Mardu Horde. It also features in Dragons of Tarkir, associated with Clan Kolaghan. Without the keyword, the mechanic was featured as early as Visions, on Viashino Sandstalker.
Dash costs range from being one mana cheaper to one mana more expensive than the converted mana cost, largely contingent on context. The typical trend is that Dash costs pull towards the middle of the mana curve into the 2-3 mana spot: cheaper ones use Dash as superior utility late in the game, while expensive ones use Dash as a bonus when missing a spot on the curve. Those that defy this trend have high impact attack triggers, or in the case of Pitiless Horde, use it as downside mitigation.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that allows creatures to be especially aggressive. See rule 702.109, “Dash.”
- 702.109. Dash
- 702.109a Dash represents three abilities: two static abilities that function while the card with dash is on the stack, one of which may create a delayed triggered ability, and a static ability that functions while the object with dash is on the battlefield. “Dash [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost,” “If this spell’s dash cost was paid, return the permanent this spell becomes to its owner’s hand at the beginning of the next end step,” and “As long as this permanent’s dash cost was paid, it has haste.” Casting a spell for its dash cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- If you choose to pay the dash cost, you're still casting the spell, so it goes on the stack and can be countered.
- Dash doesn't change when you can cast creature spells — usually only during your main phase.
- If you cast a creature spell using its dash cost, it will return to your hand only if it's still on the battlefield at the beginning of the next end step. If it leaves the battlefield before that point, it'll just stay wherever it is.
- You don't have to attack with the creature with dash unless another ability says you do.
- If a creature enters the battlefield as a copy of or becomes a copy of a creature whose dash cost was paid, the copy won't have haste and won't be returned to its owner's hand.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Goblin Berserker
Dash (You may cast this spell for its dash cost. If you do, it gains haste, and it's returned from the battlefield to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step.)
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (February 29, 2016). "Storm Scale: Khans of Tarkir Block". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (January 14, 2015). "Fate Reforged Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (December 29, 2014). "Mechanics of Fate Reforged". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (March 2, 2015). "Mechanics of Dragons of Tarkir". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (May 31, 2019). "Modern Horizons Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.