Deadly Recluse M14

Last Used: Evergreen
Type: Static
Introduced: Future Sight
Category for Deathtouch

Deathtouch is an evergreen keyword ability.


It is a static ability that means any amount of damage dealt by a source with deathtouch is enough to kill the creature receiving the damage.


Andrew is attacking with a Deadly Recluse and Neil blocks it with a Canyon Minotaur. Even though Deadly Recluse only has one power, which wouldn't normally kill something with three toughness, Deadly Recluse will still kill the Minotaur as it has deathtouch.

Comprehensive Rules

702.2. Deathtouch

  • 702.2a. Deathtouch is a static ability.
  • 702.2b. A creature with toughness greater than 0 that’s been dealt damage by a source with deathtouch since the last time state-based actions were checked is destroyed as a state-based action. See rule 704.
  • 702.2c. Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage for the purposes of determining if a proposed combat damage assignment is valid, regardless of that creature’s toughness. See rules 510.1c–d.
  • 702.2d. The deathtouch rules function no matter what zone an object with deathtouch deals damage from.
  • 702.2e. If an object changes zones before an effect causes it to deal damage, its last known information is used to determine whether it had deathtouch.
  • 702.2f. Multiple instances of deathtouch on the same object are redundant.
Evergreen Keywords
DeathtouchDefenderDouble StrikeEnchantEquip
First StrikeFlashFlyingHasteHexproofIndestructible
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.