|Introduced||Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi|
|Last Used||Oath of the Gatewatch|
|Reminder Text||Devoid (This card has no color.)|
Devoid was introduced in Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi, as a preview for Battle for Zendikar. Because it is a characteristic-defining ability, cards with devoid are colorless at all times, including when not on the battlefield or outside of the game. However, devoid does not change a card's color identity, which is defined as the combination of all colors indicated on the card.
While functionally colorless, cards with devoid are numbered according to the color of their mana cost.
Eldrazi Displacer is the only card with devoid that has white mana in its mana cost. According to Mark Rosewater, several white-costing devoid cards were planned for Battle for Zendikar and Oath of the Gatewatch, but they ended up scrapped due to "running out of room." 
In retrospect, Rosewater also said that naming Devoid was a mistake. He thought that it should have just been the reminder text as rules text with no illusion that it was a mechanic. Later, he thought it could better have been a supertype rather than a mechanic.
- A characteristic-defining ability that makes an object colorless. See rule 702.113, “Devoid.”
- Cards with devoid use frames that are variations of the transparent frame traditionally used for Eldrazi. The top part of the card features some color over a background based on the texture of the hedrons that once imprisoned the Eldrazi. This coloration is intended to aid deck building and gameplay.
- A card with devoid is not the colors in its casting cost. It is treated by the game as a colorless object.
- Other cards and abilities can give a card with devoid color. If that happens, it is no longer colorless, but it still has devoid.
- Devoid works in all zones, not just on the battlefield.
- If a card loses devoid, it will still be colorless. This is because effects that change an object's color (like the one created by devoid) are considered before the object loses devoid.
- For the same reason, if a colored object gains devoid, it will still have its original color(s). It will not be colorless.
Creature — Eldrazi Drone
Devoid (This card has no color.)
Ingest (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, that player exiles the top card of their library.)
When Dominator Drone enters the battlefield, if you control another colorless creature, each opponent loses 2 life.
- Mark Rosewater (November 21, 2016). "Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (September 7, 2015). "Preparing for Battle, Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Sam Stoddard (September 18, 2015). "Developing New Mechanics in a Returning World". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Sam Stoddard (October 23, 2015). "Developing Devoid". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (October 19, 2015). "Concept vs. Execution". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (August 31, 2015). "Battle for Zendikar Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (October 12, 2015). "Why don't the Eldrazi cards use white mana?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (January 14, 2016). "Were there any White-costing Eldrazi in design that made it into the set with their color changed?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (May 12, 2016). "Is Devoid another example of a mechanic that was added for rules reasons?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (August 29, 2016). "State of Design 2016". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 10, 2020). "Back to the Future Sight, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (September 23, 2015). "Battle for Zendikar Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.