MTG Wiki
MTG Wiki
6,148
pages
Tag: Visual edit
(Removed commented-out wikitext describing the Escape mechanic.)
Line 10: Line 10:
 
}}
 
}}
   
'''Disturb''' is a [[keyword ability]] introduced in ''[[Innistrad: Midnight Hunt]]'', where it is connected to creatures resurrected in [[Spirit]] form.<ref>{{DailyRef|feature/innistrad-midnight-hunt-mechanics-2021-09-02|Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Mechanics|[[Matt Tabak]]|September 2, 2021}}</ref><ref>{{YouTubeRef|GTnJAviOnwM|Disturb - First Look: Innistrad: Midnight Hunt|channel=[[Magic: The Gathering]]|date=August 30, 2021}}</ref><ref name="Hunt-ing 2">{{DailyRef|making-magic/happy-hunt-ing-part-2-2021-09-06|Happy Hunt-ing, Part 2|[[Mark Rosewater]]|September 6, 2021}}</ref>
+
'''Disturb''' is a [[keyword ability]] introduced in ''[[Innistrad: Midnight Hunt]]'', where it is connected to creatures resurrected in [[Spirit]] form.<ref>{{DailyRef|feature/innistrad-midnight-hunt-mechanics-2021-09-02|Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Mechanics|[[Matt Tabak]]|September 2, 2021}}</ref><ref>{{YouTubeRef|GTnJAviOnwM|Disturb - First Look: Innistrad: Midnight Hunt|channel=[[Magic: The Gathering]]|date=August 30, 2021}}</ref><ref name="Hunt-ing 2">{{DailyRef|making-magic/happy-hunt-ing-part-2-2021-09-06|Happy Hunt-ing, Part 2|[[Mark Rosewater]]|September 6, 2021}}</ref>
   
 
==Description==
 
==Description==
Spells with disturb can be cast from the [[graveyard]] [[transform]]ed for their disturb cost. All disturb "spells" are Spirit creatures with flying, and are exiled if countered or killed.
+
Spells with disturb can be cast from the [[graveyard]] [[transform]]ed for their disturb cost.
   
Disturb is another creature-return mechanic in the vein of [[Escape]] or [[Embalm]], able to be cast from the graveyard for extra value after its death. While Embalm correlates strongly to [[Flashback]] for creatures, Disturb is synonymous to [[Aftermath]]; the qualities of the front has no bearing on the cost or sizing of the back. {{Card|Ghoulcaller's Accomplice}} and {{Card|Dauntless Cathar}} played in this space previously.
+
Disturb is another creature-return mechanic in the vein of [[Escape]] or [[Embalm]], able to be cast from the graveyard for extra value after its death. While Embalm correlates strongly to [[Flashback]] for creatures, Disturb is synonymous to [[Aftermath]]; the qualities of the front has no bearing on the cost or sizing of the back. {{Card|Ghoulcaller's Accomplice}} and {{Card|Dauntless Cathar}} played in this space previously.
   
If a card with disturb is in your graveyard, you can cast it. Disturb provides you with an [[alternative cost]] with an amount of [[mana]] you'll have to pay. Disturb doesn't change when you can [[cast]] the spell. Unlike every other transforming [[double-faced]] card seen thus far, you're actually casting the [[back face]].
+
If a card with disturb is in your graveyard, you can cast it. Disturb provides you with an [[alternative cost]] with an amount of [[mana]] you'll have to pay. Disturb doesn't change when you can [[cast]] the spell. Unlike every other transforming [[double-faced]] card seen thus far, you're actually casting the [[back face]]. All back faces cast with Disturb are Spirit creatures with flying, and are exiled if countered or killed.
   
Casting a spell using disturb doesn't change any of the normal rules for casting a spell. The spell goes on the stack transformed. It can be [[counter]]ed or otherwise responded to. Its [[converted mana cost]] doesn't change — it's always based on the mana cost, not the disturb cost.<!--When an [[instant]] or [[sorcery]] [[spell]] with disturb resolves (or is countered or otherwise leaves the stack), it returns to its owner's graveyard. [[Permanent]] spells with disturb that resolve head to the [[battlefield]], but if they [[die]] later, they'll head back to the graveyard. Cards can escape over and over again throughout the game as long as you have enough other cards to exile and mana to spare.
+
Casting a spell using disturb doesn't change any of the normal rules for casting a spell. The spell goes on the stack transformed. It can be [[counter]]ed or otherwise responded to. Its [[converted mana cost]] doesn't change — it's always based on the mana cost, not the disturb cost.
   
A few creature cards have abilities that say they disturb with a number of [[+1/+1 counter]]s. This just means that if you cast them from your graveyard using the disturb mechanic, they'll enter the battlefield transformed with that many +1/+1 counters.-->
 
 
==Examples==
 
==Examples==
 
{{examples
 
{{examples
Line 33: Line 32:
 
* Disturb's permission doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.
 
* Disturb's permission doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.
 
* To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an disturb cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.
 
* To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an disturb cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.
<!--* After a disturbed spell resolves, it returns to its owner's graveyard if it's not a permanent spell. If it is a permanent spell, it enters the battlefield and will return to its owner's graveyard if it dies later.-->
 
 
* If a card has multiple abilities giving you permission to cast it, such as two disturb abilities or a disturb ability and a flashback ability, you choose which one to apply. The others have no effect.
 
* If a card has multiple abilities giving you permission to cast it, such as two disturb abilities or a disturb ability and a flashback ability, you choose which one to apply. The others have no effect.
 
* If you cast a spell with its disturb permission, you can't choose to apply any other alternative costs or to cast it without paying its mana cost. If it has any additional costs, you must pay those.
 
* If you cast a spell with its disturb permission, you can't choose to apply any other alternative costs or to cast it without paying its mana cost. If it has any additional costs, you must pay those.

Revision as of 01:21, 11 September 2021

Disturb
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Innistrad: Midnight Hunt
Last Used Innistrad: Midnight Hunt
Reminder Text Disturb (You may cast this card from your graveyard transformed for its disturb cost.)
Statistics
12 cards
{W} 33.3% {U} 41.7% {B} 8.3% {W/U} 16.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Disturb"

Disturb is a keyword ability introduced in Innistrad: Midnight Hunt, where it is connected to creatures resurrected in Spirit form.[1][2][3]

Description

Spells with disturb can be cast from the graveyard transformed for their disturb cost.

Disturb is another creature-return mechanic in the vein of Escape or Embalm, able to be cast from the graveyard for extra value after its death. While Embalm correlates strongly to Flashback for creatures, Disturb is synonymous to Aftermath; the qualities of the front has no bearing on the cost or sizing of the back. Ghoulcaller's Accomplice and Dauntless Cathar played in this space previously.

If a card with disturb is in your graveyard, you can cast it. Disturb provides you with an alternative cost with an amount of mana you'll have to pay. Disturb doesn't change when you can cast the spell. Unlike every other transforming double-faced card seen thus far, you're actually casting the back face. All back faces cast with Disturb are Spirit creatures with flying, and are exiled if countered or killed.

Casting a spell using disturb doesn't change any of the normal rules for casting a spell. The spell goes on the stack transformed. It can be countered or otherwise responded to. Its converted mana cost doesn't change — it's always based on the mana cost, not the disturb cost.

Examples

Example

Baithook Angler {1}{U}
Creature — Human Peasant
2/1
Disturb — {1}{U} (You may cast this card transformed from your graveyard for its disturb cost.)

Rules

TBA

Rulings

  • Disturb's permission doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an disturb cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.
  • If a card has multiple abilities giving you permission to cast it, such as two disturb abilities or a disturb ability and a flashback ability, you choose which one to apply. The others have no effect.
  • If you cast a spell with its disturb permission, you can't choose to apply any other alternative costs or to cast it without paying its mana cost. If it has any additional costs, you must pay those.
  • If a card with disturb is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
  • Once you begin casting a spell with disturb, it immediately moves to the stack transformed. Players can't take any other actions until you're done casting the spell.

References

  1. Matt Tabak (September 2, 2021). "Innistrad: Midnight Hunt Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Disturb - First Look: Innistrad: Midnight Hunt (Video). Magic: The Gathering. YouTube (August 30, 2021).
  3. Mark Rosewater (September 6, 2021). "Happy Hunt-ing, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.