MTG Wiki
Divinity counter
Use Make Indestructible
Placed On Permanents
Introduced Champions of Kamigawa
Last Used Commander 2017
7 counter creation cards
{W} 28.6% {U} 14.3% {B} 14.3% {R} 14.3% {G} 14.3% {artifact symbol} 14.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Divinity counter"

Divinity counters, while having no inherent rules meaning, are consistently and exclusively used by an unnamed mechanic to grant permanents indestructible. Because they are not defined as doing so in the Comprehensive Rules, they only grant indestructible so long as a permanent with such an ability is on the battlefield.

Divinity counters first appeared on Champions of Kamigawa's myojin cycle: Myojin of Cleansing Fire, Myojin of Infinite Rage, Myojin of Life's Web, Myojin of Night's Reach, and Myojin of Seeing Winds. While the myojin were initially designed as indestructible at all times, there was concern that they would be too powerful in reanimator decks. For that reason, they were changed to rely on divinity counters for indestructible and only acquired divinity counters when cast from the hand.[1] They are also used by That Which Was Taken from Betrayers of Kamigawa, which can add divinity counters and grant indestructible to any permanent.[2]

They reappeared on Bant in Planechase and Kindred Boon in Commander 2017. With keyword counters introduced in Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths, divinity counters were largely supplanted by indestructible counters - and in Kamigawa: Neon Dynasty, a new cycle of Myojins were printed to highlight this fact.


  1. Aaron Forsythe (December 10, 2004). "Three of Kamigawa's Champions". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Gottlieb (February 17, 2005). "Wrathless Wrath". Wizards of the Coast.