Encore

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Encore
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Commander Legends
Last Used Commander Legends
Reminder Text Encore [cost] ([Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: For each opponent, create a token copy that attacks that opponent this turn if able. They gain haste. Sacrifice them at the beginning of the next end step. Activate only as a sorcery.)
Statistics 15 cards
{W} 20% {U} 20% {B} 26.7% {R} 20% {G} 6.7% {artifact symbol} 6.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Encore"

Encore is a keyword ability specifically used in the Commander format. Encore was introduced in Commander Legends.[1] It has similarities with unearth, flashback, and myriad.

Description[edit | edit source]

Encore is effective in two-player duels but really shines in multiplayer games.

Encore is an activated ability that can be activated only if the creature card that has it is in your graveyard. It only appears on non-legendary creatures. You can pay a creature's encore cost and exile it from your graveyard to create a number of token copies of it equal to your number of opponents. Each of those tokens has haste, must attack that player, and is sacrificed during the end step.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Briarblade Adept {4}{B}
Creature — Elf Assassin
3/4
Whenever Briarblade Adept attacks, target creature an opponent controls gets -1/-1 until end of turn.
Encore {3}{B} ({3}{B}, Exile this card from your graveyard: For each opponent, create a token copy that attacks that opponent this turn if able. They gain haste. Sacrifice them at the beginning of the next end step. Activate only as a sorcery.)

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

Encore
A keyword ability that lets a player exile a creature card from their graveyard to, for each opponent, create a token that’s a copy of that card to attack that opponent.

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

  • 702.140. Encore
    • 702.140a Encore is an activated ability that functions while the card with encore is in a graveyard. “Encore [cost]” means “[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: For each opponent, create a token that’s a copy of this card that attacks that opponent this turn if able. The tokens gain haste. Sacrifice them at the beginning of the next end step. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Exiling the card with encore is a cost to activate the ability. Once you announce that you're activating it, no player may take actions until you've finished. They can't try to remove the card from your graveyard to stop you from paying the cost.
  • Opponents who have left the game aren't counted when determining how many tokens to create.
  • The tokens copy only what's on the original card. Effects that modified that creature when it was previously on the battlefield won't be copied.
  • Each token must attack the appropriate player if able.
  • If one of the tokens can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, you aren't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
  • If an effect stops a token from attacking a specific player, that token can attack any player or planeswalker, or not attack at all. If the effect stops the token from attacking a specific player unless a cost is paid, you don't have to pay that cost unless you want to attack that player.
  • If one of the tokens somehow is under another player's control as the delayed triggered ability resolves, you can't sacrifice that token. It remains on the battlefield indefinitely, even if you regain control of it later.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak (October 26, 2020). "Commander Legends Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.