MTG Wiki
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Theros Beyond Death
Last Used New Capenna Commander
Reminder Text Escape (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its escape cost)
24 cards
{W} 8.3% {U} 16.7% {B} 29.2% {R} 20.8% {G} 12.5% {M} 12.5%
Scryfall Search

Escape is a keyword ability introduced in Theros Beyond Death, where it is connected to the Returned escaping from Nyx.[1][2] Spells with escape can be cast from the graveyard for their escape cost. The cost includes exiling a number of other cards from the graveyard. If a creature escapes, it may receive an additional bonus.


If a card with escape is in your graveyard, you can cast it. Escape provides you with an alternative cost with two components: an amount of mana you'll have to pay and a number of other cards you'll have to exile from your graveyard. Escape doesn't change when you can cast the spell. Instants with escape are good to go anytime you have priority; the other card types can be cast only during your main phase when the stack is empty.

Casting a spell using escape doesn't change any of the normal rules for casting a spell. The spell goes on the stack. It can be countered or otherwise responded to. Its converted mana cost doesn't change — it's always based on the mana cost, not the escape cost.

When an instant or sorcery spell with escape resolves (or is countered or otherwise leaves the stack), it returns to its owner's graveyard. Permanent spells with escape that resolve head to the battlefield, but if they die later, they'll head back to the graveyard. Cards can escape over and over again throughout the game as long as you have enough other cards to exile and mana to spare.

Most creatures that escape will escape with some number of +1/+1 counters; this means if they were cast from the graveyard with the escape cost, they enter with that many +1/+1 counters. The two Elder Giants (Uro, Titan of Nature's Wrath and Kroxa, Titan of Death's Hunger) do not escape with counters, but this is due to the fact that they are not "creatures", rather closer to sorceries, in their first casting. Two others, both from supplementary sets, escape with other things; Tizerus Charger may escape with a flying counter, while Skyway Robber gains a triggered ability.



Chainweb Aracnir {G}
Creature — Spider
When Chainweb Aracnir enters the battlefield, it deals damage equal to its power to target creature with flying an opponent controls.
Escape — {3}{G}{G}, Exile four other cards from your graveyard (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its escape cost.)
Chainweb Arancir escapes with three +1/+1 counters on it.


From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

A keyword ability that lets a player cast a card from their graveyard. See rule 702.138, “Escape.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.138. Escape
    • 702.138a Escape represents a static ability that functions while the card with escape is in a player’s graveyard. “Escape [cost]” means “You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost.” Casting a spell using its escape ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
    • 702.138b A spell or permanent “escaped” if that spell or the spell that became that permanent as it resolved was cast from a graveyard with an escape ability.
    • 702.138c An ability that reads “[This permanent] escapes with [one or more of a kind of counter]” means “If this permanent escaped, it enters the battlefield with [those counters]” That ability may have a triggered ability linked to it that triggers “When it enters the battlefield this way.” (See rule 603.11.) Such a triggered ability triggers when that permanent enters the battlefield after its replacement effect was applied, even if that replacement effect had no effect.
    • 702.138d An ability that reads “[This permanent] escapes with [ability]” means “If this permanent escaped, it has [ability].”


  • Escape's permission doesn't change when you may cast the spell from your graveyard.
  • To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying (such as an escape cost), add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was and no matter whether an alternative cost was paid.
  • After an escaped spell resolves, it returns to its owner's graveyard if it's not a permanent spell. If it is a permanent spell, it enters the battlefield and will return to its owner's graveyard if it dies later.
  • If a card has multiple abilities giving you permission to cast it, such as two escape abilities or an escape ability and a flashback ability, you choose which one to apply. The others have no effect.
  • If you cast a spell with its escape permission, you can't choose to apply any other alternative costs or to cast it without paying its mana cost. If it has any additional costs, you must pay those.
  • If a card with escape is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
  • Once you begin casting a spell with escape, it immediately moves to the stack. Players can't take any other actions until you're done casting the spell.


  1. Matt Tabak (December 12, 2019). "Theros Beyond Death Mechanics". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Theros Beyond Death Spotlight: Escape (Video). Magic: The Gathering. YouTube (December 12, 2019).