MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Exploit
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Dragons of Tarkir
Last Used Innistrad: Crimson Vow
Reminder Text Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.)
Storm Scale 6[1]
Statistics
19 cards
{U} 36.8% {B} 57.9% {U/B} 5.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Exploit"

Exploit is a keyword ability introduced in Dragons of Tarkir, where it was the signature ability of the blue-black Clan Silumgar.[2]

Description[]

When a creature with exploit enters the battlefield, the player may sacrifice a creature. Each creature with exploit has another ability that gives the player a benefit when it "exploits a creature" This means when the player sacrificed a creature because of its exploit ability.[3][4] Profaner of the Dead is the only card that tracks the qualities of the exploited creature.

Exploit also appeared in Modern Horizons[5] and Innistrad: Crimson Vow. In Crimson Vow it appeared as the mechanic associated with the Zombies, also in blue-black.[6]

Exploit will allow you to sacrifice only one creature. You don't have to sacrifice a creature, but if you do, you choose which one as the exploit ability resolves. You can sacrifice the creature with exploit to its own ability. If that creature has an ability that triggers "when [this creature] exploits a creature," sacrificing itself to its own exploit ability will cause that ability to trigger. And finally, the creature with exploit needs to still be on the battlefield as you sacrifice the creature in order for that "when [this creature] exploits a creature" ability to trigger. If it's not on the battlefield as its exploit ability resolves, you can still sacrifice a creature, but you better have another good reason, because that last ability won't trigger.

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 10, 2022—Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate)

Exploit
A keyword ability that lets you sacrifice a creature for a benefit. See rule 702.110, “Exploit.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 10, 2022—Commander Legends: Battle for Baldur's Gate)

  • 702.110. Exploit
    • 702.110a Exploit is a triggered ability. “Exploit” means “When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.”
    • 702.110b A creature with exploit “exploits a creature” when the controller of the exploit ability sacrifices a creature as that ability resolves.

Rulings[]

  • A creature with exploit "exploits a creature" when the controller of the exploit ability sacrifices a creature as that ability resolves.[7]
  • You choose whether to sacrifice a creature and which creature to sacrifice as the exploit ability resolves.
  • You can sacrifice the creature with exploit if it's still on the battlefield. This will cause its other ability to trigger.
  • You can't sacrifice more than one creature to any one exploit ability.
  • The extra ability doesn't trigger if the player sacrificed a creature for any other reason, including the exploit ability of a different creature.
  • A player can sacrifice any creature they control when the exploit ability resolves, including the creature with exploit itself.
  • You don't have to sacrifice a creature if you don't want to.

Examples[]

Example

Silumgar Butcher {4}{B}
Creature — Zombie Djinn
3/3
Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.)
When Silumgar Butcher exploits a creature, target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn.

References[]

  1. Mark Rosewater (February 29, 2016). "Storm Scale: Khans of Tarkir Block". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (April 20, 2015). "Parallel Design". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak (March 2, 2015). "Mechanics of Dragons of Tarkir". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Wizards of the Coast (March 18, 2015). "Dragons of Tarkir Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Matt Tabak (May 31, 2019). "Modern Horizons Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Mark Rosewater (November 8, 2021). "From Vow On, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  7. Wizards of the Coast] (November 10, 2021). "Innistrad: Crimson Vow Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
Advertisement