|Last Used||Modern Horizons 2|
|Reminder Text||Explore (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back on top or into your graveyard.)|
11.8% 5.9% 35.3% 5.9% 41.2%
If a creature you control explores, you reveal the top card of your library. If the revealed card is a land, representing your creature finding some new territory you can check out, put that card into your hand. If it's not a land card, your creature comes back empty-handed but still benefits from the attempt. Specifically, you put a +1/+1 counter on it. Then, you decide whether the nonland card goes back on top of your library or into your graveyard. In a sense, Explore is an upgraded version of Scry (though the later released Surveil is actually closer than Scry).
Ixalan has a few cards with abilities that trigger whenever a creature you control explores.
- A keyword action that causes a player to reveal the top card of their library and then to take different actions depending on whether a land card is revealed this way. See rule 701.40, “Explore.”
- 701.40. Explore
- 701.40a Certain abilities instruct a permanent to explore. To do so, that permanent’s controller reveals the top card of their library. If a land card is revealed this way, that player puts that card into their hand. Otherwise, that player puts a +1/+1 counter on the exploring permanent and may put the revealed card into their graveyard.
- 701.40b A permanent “explores” after the process described in rule 701.40a is complete, even if some or all of those actions were impossible.
- 701.40c If a permanent changes zones before an effect causes it to explore, its last known information is used to determine which object explored and who controlled it.
- Once an ability that causes a creature to explore begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it's done. Notably, opponents can't try to remove the exploring creature after you reveal a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
- If no card is revealed, most likely because that player's library is empty, the exploring creature receives a +1/+1 counter.
- If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to explore but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still explores. If you reveal a nonland card this way, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on anything, but you may put the revealed card into your graveyard. Effects that trigger "whenever a creature you control explores" trigger if appropriate.
- Creatures can't explore unless an effect allows it to do so.
- When a triggered or an activated ability resolves, if the creature is no longer on the battlefield, it can still explore. If you reveal a land card, you'll still put it into your hand. If you reveal a nonland card, you won't put a +1/+1 counter on the now-absent creature, but you will decide whether the card goes back on your library or into the graveyard.
Creature — Merfolk Scout
When Tishana's Wayfinder enters the battlefield, it explores. (Reveal the top card of your library. Put that card into your hand if it's a land. Otherwise put a +1/+1 counter on this creature, then put the card back or put it into your graveyard.)
- Matt Tabak (August 28, 2017). "Ixalan Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Gavin Verhey (September 14, 2017). "A Win-Win Exploration". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak (January 1, 2018). "Rivals of Ixalan Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (April 19, 2019). "Explore is Ken Nagle.". Twitter.
- Wizards of the Coast (September 15, 2017). "Ixalan Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.