MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Extort
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Gatecrash
Last Used New Capenna Commander
Reminder Text Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B} If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
Storm Scale 6[1]
Statistics
14 cards
{W} 28.6% {B} 35.7% {W/B} 35.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Extort"

Extort is a keyword introduced in Gatecrash, wherein it is the Orzhov Syndicate guild mechanic.[2] It was also featured in Dragon's Maze and as a one-off in the Streets of New Capenna Commander decks.

Description[]

Extort allows players to pay additional {W} or {B} for spells they cast and create a small life-draining effect. The mechanic was designed by Shawn Main who wasn't actually on the design team for Gatecrash. The cost being hybrid mana happened late in the process.[3]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Extort
A keyword ability that lets you gain life and have opponents lose life whenever you cast a spell. See rule 702.101, “Extort.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.101. Extort
    • 702.101a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”
    • 702.101b If a permanent has multiple instances of extort, each triggers separately.

Rulings[]

  • You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • The amount of life you gain is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • The extort ability doesn't target any player.
  • The hybrid white-black mana symbol does not change the card's color identity.

Examples[]

Example

Treasury Thrull {4}{W}{B}
Creature — Thrull
4/4
Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
Whenever Treasury Thrull attacks, you may return target artifact, creature, or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand.

References[]

Advertisement