|Reminder Text||Fabricate N (When this permanent enters the battlefield, you may put N +1/+1 counters on it. If you don't, create N 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens.)|
28.6% 28.6% 28.6% 14.3%
When a creature with Fabricate enters the battlefield you may put a number of +1/+1 counters on the creature, or create a number of 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens. The number after fabricate tells you how many +1/+1 counters or Servos you get.
The fabricate ability triggers when the creature enters the battlefield, but you don't choose counters or tokens until that ability resolves. That means your opponent will have an opportunity to respond to the ability before you make that choice and before the +1/+1 counters or Servo tokens exist. If the creature with fabricate isn't on the battlefield as the fabricate ability resolves, you must choose to create the Servo tokens.
- A keyword ability that lets you choose whether to create Servo tokens or put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.123, “Fabricate.”
- 702.123. Fabricate
- 702.123a Fabricate is a triggered ability. “Fabricate N” means “When this permanent enters the battlefield, you may put N +1/+1 counters on it. If you don’t, create N 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens.”
- 702.123b If a permanent has multiple instances of fabricate, each triggers separately.
Artifact Creature — Construct
Fabricate 1 (When this creature enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on it or create a 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature token.)
- Mark Rosewater (January 14, 2018). "Hey, Mark! Where is Fabricate in the storm scale? It's my favorite mechanic in Kaladesh". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Matt Tabak (September 2, 2016). "Kaladesh Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (September 19, 2016). "Kaladesh Ingredients, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Magic Twitch channel (September 2, 2016). Magic at PAX: Kaladesh Debut.