|Reminder Text||First strike (This creature deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.)|
41.2% 1.3% 8.8% 26.9% 2.1% 1.7% 0.8% 3.8% 0.8% 2.1% 0.4% 3.8% 2.9% 3.4%
A creature with first strike deals combat damage before creatures without first strike. The ability usually represents a creature's exceptional speed or skill; or possession of long range weapons, such as spears, lances, or bows. The most common creature types to have first strike are Knights and Soldiers.
Fresh Faced Recruit from Guilds of Ravnica is R&D experimenting with creatures that just give first strike offensively. Play Design enjoys it more when used offensively. Defensively it can just shut down combat.
The mythical card Throat Wolf was rumored to have firstest strike. Throat Wolf was finally printed with firstest strike as a test card in the Mystery Booster set (This creature deals combat damage before creatures with first stike).
- First Strike
- A keyword ability that lets a creature deal its combat damage before other creatures. See rule 702.7, “First Strike.”
- 702.7. First Strike
- 702.7a First strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”)
- 702.7b If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.
- 702.7c Giving first strike to a creature without it after combat damage has already been dealt in the first combat damage step won’t preclude that creature from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step. Removing first strike from a creature after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step won’t allow it to also assign combat damage in the second combat damage step (unless the creature has double strike).
- 702.7d Multiple instances of first strike on the same creature are redundant.
Creature — Minotaur
First strike (This creature deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.)
Enchantments that grant just First Strike
All your creatures
- Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 31, 2012). "Which colors are primary, secondary and tertiary on first strike?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (January 13, 2019). "I want to ask about the card I got judge calls about.". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (April 9, 2019). "Is full-fledged First Strike falling out of favor with Wizards?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (April 9, 2019). "Whats wrong with first strike that Wizards isnt liking it as much recently?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- A Planeswalker's Primer for Magic 2010: First Strike and Double Strike (Video). Magic: The Gathering. YouTube.
- Gavin Verhey (March 23, 2017). "Striking First". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.