|(Subtype for creature/tribal cards)|
2 cardsas of Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths
Flagbearer is a creature class. Flagbearers are soldiers or civilians who bear a standard or oriflamme, i.e. either a type of flag or an inflexible but mobile image, which is used as a formal, visual symbol of a military unit on the battlefield.
In Apocalypse there were two White Flagbearer creatures (Standard Bearer and Coalition Honor Guard) and an aura (Coalition Flag) that granted a creature the Flagbearer subtype as well as the inherent ability "As long as you have one in play, any spell or ability your opponent plays that can target a Flagbearer must target a Flagbearer". If a spell has multiple targets, only one of the targets needs to be a Flagbearer.
- Matt Place (November 25, 2004). "Ask Wizards - November, 2004". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Paul Barclay (October 18, 2002). "October Rulings and Errata". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Eli Shiffrin (November 11, 2019). "Mystery Booster Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.