From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Static (2nd ability)
Introduced Kaldheim
Last Used Kaldheim
Reminder Text Foretell [cost] (During your turn, you may pay {2} and exile this card from your hand face down. Cast it on a later turn for its foretell cost.)
Statistics 41 cards
{W} 26.8% {U} 26.8% {B} 19.5% {R} 14.6% {G} 9.8% {artifact symbol} 2.4%
Scryfall Search

Foretell is a keyword ability featured on cards in Kaldheim.[1][2][3]

Description[edit | edit source]

Foretell helper card

Foretell was designed as the combination of capturing a top-down omen flavor and a mechanic called "layaway" that Mark Rosewater had created many years ago based on a mechanic from the "Star Wars Trading Card" game.[4]

During your turn, you may pay {2} and exile a card with foretell from your hand face down. You may cast it on a later turn for its foretell cost (the mana cost listed as part of the foretell keyword). Foretelling is optional, so you can always just cast the spell as normal if you're looking for a more immediate impact.

Foretell essentially splits the cost of a card over two turns. The implementation has roots in Echo (installment costs), Suspend (setting the card into exile for cheaper casting later), and Morph (hidden information, uniform baseline, installments). Some cards have additional benefits if the spell was foretold before being cast.

Each card with foretell has a raven watermark as a nod to Alrund with the Light of Starnheim shape (the diamond) in the center.[5]

R&D created a foretell helper token that you can optionally use to assist during gameplay.

Cards interacting with Foretell[edit | edit source]

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You can't cast a foretold card on the same turn you exile it.
  • Because exiling a card with foretell from your hand is a special action, you can do so any time you have priority during your turn, including in response to spells and abilities. Once you announce you're taking the action, no other player can respond by trying to remove the card from your hand.
  • Casting a foretold card from exile follows the timing rules for that card. If you foretell an instant card, you can cast it as soon as the next player's turn. In most cases, if you foretell a card that isn't an instant (or doesn't have flash), you'll have to wait until your next turn to cast it.
  • If you're casting a foretold card from exile for its foretell cost, you can't choose to cast it for any other alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, those must be paid to cast the spell.
  • In exile, you must keep your foretold cards clear. Your opponents won't know what the cards are, but they'll know which card you foretold first, second, and so forth.
  • At the end of the game, if you still have any foretold cards in exile, reveal them to all players so they know the future you foretold was an honest one.

Example[edit | edit source]


Battle Mammoth {3}{G}{G}
Creature — Elephant
Whenever a permanent you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, you may draw a card.
Foretell {2}{G}{G} (During your turn, you may pay {2} and exile this card from your hand face down. Cast it on a later turn for its foretell cost.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak (December 7, 2020). "Kaldheim Mechanics". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak (January 22, 2021). "Kaldheim Release Notes". Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Dave Humpherys (January 19, 2021). "Leading Kaldheim Set Design". Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater (Janauary 9, 2021). "Was foretell created as a improved morph the same way chroma lead to devotion?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
  5. Mike Turian (December 17, 2020). "Collecting Kaldheim". Wizards of the Coast.