|(Subtype for artifact cards)|
100%as of Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths
Fortification is an artifact type introduced in Future Sight. A Fortification can be attached to a land following the same rules as an equipment attached to a creature. It uses the fortify keyword, its counterpart to equip. So far, the only Fortification in existence is Darksteel Garrison.
Mark Rosewater considers the chance of Darksteel Garrison ever being reprinted unlikely. According to him, the biggest problem with Fortification is that there's not enough difference between Fortifications and Auras that enchant lands.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- An artifact subtype. Fortifications can be attached to lands. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.66, “Fortify.”
- 301.6. Some artifacts have the subtype “Fortification.” A Fortification can be attached to a land. It can’t legally be attached to an object that isn’t a land. Fortification’s analog to the equip keyword ability is the fortify keyword ability. Rules 301.5a–e apply to Fortifications in relation to lands just as they apply to Equipment in relation to creatures, with one clarification relating to rule 301.5c: a Fortification that’s also a creature (not a land) can’t fortify a land. (See rule 702.66, “Fortify.”)
- 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.
References[edit | edit source]