MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Friends forever
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Stranger Things
Last Used Stranger Things
Reminder Text Friends forever (You can have two commanders if both have friends forever.)
Statistics
7 cards
{W/U} 14.3% {R/G} 14.3% {G/W} 14.3% {W/B} 14.3% {U/R} 14.3% {R/W} 14.3% {M} 14.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Friends forever"

Friends forever is a keyword ability specifically used in the Commander format. Friends forever was introduced in Secret Lair Drop Series: Stranger Things and is a renamed Partner.[1]

Description[]

Friend Forever! is a slogan often used in the Stranger Things science fiction horror Netflix series that the cards with this keyword are modelled on.

These cards pair with just those with the same mechanic, and will not be folded into the larger “partner” pool when they are rebranded to Magic IP cards.[2]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Friends Forever
A variant of the partner ability that lets two legendary creatures be your commander in the Commander variant rather than one if both have the friends forever ability. See rule 702.124, “Partner,” and rule 903, “Commander.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.124g Friends forever is a variant of the partner ability. Friends forever modifies the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant, and it functions before the game begins. Rather than a single legendary creature card, you may designate two legendary creature cards as your commander if each has friends forever.

Rulings[]

A player can have two commanders if both have friends forever. Because both commanders start the game in the command zone, the remaining library is only 98 cards. Your two commanders are treated individually for all other Commander rules. If either leaves the battlefield, you can return it to the command zone instead. The "commander tax", the additional cost of 2 for every time you've cast a commander from the command zone, applies individually. Combat damage dealt by each commander is similarly tracked individually. If either commander can deal 21 or more combat damage to a single player over the course of the game, that player loses.

If any card refers to your commander (or commanders in general), it means either one of the two.

Partner and Friends forever are not compatible.

References[]

Advertisement