MTG Wiki
Advertisement

Gift
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Bloomburrow
Last used Bloomburrow
Reminder Text Gift (You may promise an opponent a gift as you cast this spell. If you do, they [get whatever you're gifting them].)
Statistics
25 cards
{W} 28% {U} 16% {B} 16% {R} 16% {G} 16% {G/U} 4% {artifact symbol} 4%
Scryfall Search
keyword:"Gift"

Gift [something] is a keyword ability introduced in Bloomburrow. It represents an additional cost.[1][2][3]

Description[ | ]

The additional cost is that you may promise an opponent a gift as you cast a spell with this mechanic. This is optional, and if you have more than one opponent, you choose one and only one of them at most. They don't receive the gift yet. Each card with gift has additional or alternative effects if the gift was or wasn't promised.

  • As you cast a permanent spell with gift, you can promise the gift to an opponent if you want. When the permanent enters, the chosen opponent receives the gift.
  • As you cast an instant or sorcery spell, you can promise the gift to an opponent if you want. Then the spell's other effects happen. Note that if a spell has targets, those targets are chosen long before any gifts are given, so those gifts (should they happen to be newly created tokens) can't be those targets. However, the tokens will be on the battlefield for any other untargeted effects the spell may have.

For all cards with gift, permanent and otherwise, the spell must resolve for the gift to be received. For permanent spells, if the spell doesn't resolve, the permanent never enters, so its triggered ability never triggers. For instants and sorceries, if the spell is countered or its targets become illegal, none of its effects will happen, including the gift.

Types of Gifts[ | ]

Gift ... Opponent's action Example
a card Draw a card. Kitnap
a tapped Fish Create a tapped 1/1 blue Fish creature token. Parting Gust
a Food Create a Food token. (It’s an artifact with “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life.”) Valley Rally
a Treasure Create a Treasure token. (It’s an artifact with “{T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.”) Blooming Blast
an extra turn Take an extra turn after this one. Perch Protection
an Octopus Create an 8/8 blue Octopus creature token. Octomancer

Rules[ | ]

Rulings[ | ]

  • The tokens that can be created by a gift ability are predefined as part of the ability's rules. "Gift a tapped Fish" has a specific meaning in those rules, so "Fish" isn't being used as a creature type in that context.[4]
  • As an additional cost to cast a spell with gift, you can promise the listed gift to an opponent. That opponent is chosen as part of that additional cost. The gift isn't given at this time; rather, it's given at a later time based on whether or not the spell is a permanent spell.
  • For permanent spells with gift, an ability triggers when that permanent enters if the gift was promised. When that ability resolves, the gift is given to the appropriate opponent.
  • For instants and sorceries with gift, the gift is given to the appropriate opponent as part of the resolution of the spell. This happens before any of the spell's other effects would take place.
  • If a spell for which the gift was promised is countered, doesn't resolve (perhaps because all of its targets are illegal), or is otherwise removed from the stack, the gift won't be given. None of its other effects will happen either.
  • You can't pay a gift cost more than once.
  • If you copy a spell for which the gift was promised, the gift was also promised to the same opponent for the copy. If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent that's already on the battlefield, the gift isn't promised for that new permanent, even if it was promised for the original.
  • Some instant or sorcery spells require alternative or additional targets if the gift was promised. You ignore these targeting requirements if the gifts aren't promised for those spells. On the other hand, you can promise a gift for a permanent spell even if you won't be able to choose targets for an enters ability of that permanent once the spell resolves.

Example[ | ]

Example 1

Kitnap {2}{U}{U}
Enchantment - Aura
Gift a card (You may promise an opponent a gift as you cast this spell. If you do, when it enters, they draw a card.)
Enchant creature
When Kitnap enters, tap enchanted creature. If the gift wasn’t promised, put three stun counters on it.
You control enchanted creature.

Example 2

Parting Gust {W}{W}
Instant
Gift a tapped Fish (You may promise an opponent a gift as you cast this spell. If you do, they create a tapped 1/1 blue Fish creature token before its other effects.)
Exile target nontoken creature. If the gift wasn't promised, return that creature to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it at the beginning of the next end step.

Example 3

Valley Rally {2}{R}
Instant
Gift a Food (You may promise an opponent a gift as you cast this spell. If you do, they create a Food token before its other effects. It’s an artifact with “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life.”)
Creatures you control get +2/+0 until end of turn. If the gift was promised, target creature you control gains first strike until end of turn.

Trivia[ | ]

  • In development, R&D explored just having players gift an opponent life directly instead gifting a Food token, but the flavor felt a little off.[2]

References[ | ]

Advertisement