Goad

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Goad
Keyword Action
Introduced Conspiracy: Take the Crown
Last Used Commander 2021
Reminder Text Goad (Until your next turn, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than you if able.)
Statistics 16 cards
{W} 6.3% {U} 25% {B} 6.3% {R} 43.8% {G} 6.3% {M} 6.3% {artifact symbol} 6.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Goad"

Goad is a keyword action introduced in Conspiracy: Take the Crown that forces creatures to attack, preferably someone other than you. It was designed for multiplayer play.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

A goaded creature has to attack a player (not a planeswalker) other than you if it can. The controller of a goaded creature still chooses who the creature attacks. If it's tapped, then it can't attack. If there's a cost to attack, its controller doesn't have to pay that cost, and if they don't, the creature doesn't have to attack. A creature with defender still can't attack.

If the creature can't attack a player other than you, then it must attack you or a planeswalker if it can. This is most likely when the game is down to two players.

A goaded creature remains goaded until your next turn.

Goad was introduced in the Commander format with Commander 2017 's Disrupt Decorum. It later also appeared in several other Commander products.

Kardur, Doomscourge in Kaldheim functionally goads your opponent's creatures, but is not keyworded as it is a stand-alone effect.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 22, 2021—Strixhaven: School of Mages)

Goad
A keyword action that forces a creature to attack and to attack another player if able. See rule 701.38, “Goad.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 22, 2021—Strixhaven: School of Mages)

  • 701.38. Goad
    • 701.38a Certain spells and abilities can goad a creature. Until the next turn of the controller of that spell or ability, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than that player if able.
    • 701.38b A static ability may state that a creature “is goaded.” That creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than the controller of the permanent with that static ability if able.
    • 701.38c Once a player has goaded a creature, the same player goading it again has no effect. It doesn’t create additional combat requirements.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Jeering Homunculus {1}{U}
Creature — Homunculus
0/4
When Jeering Homunculus enters the battlefield, you may goad target creature. (Until your next turn, that creature attacks each combat if able and attacks a player other than you if able.)

References[edit | edit source]