Mana value
The mana value (also known as converted mana cost [CMC] from Sixth Edition to Kaldheim, and casting cost in sets prior to Sixth Edition) of an object is an integer greater than or equal to zero. It's a number that determines the quantity of mana in a mana cost.
Rules[edit | edit source]
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (February 5, 2021—Kaldheim)
- Converted Mana Cost
- The total amount of mana in a mana cost, regardless of color. See rule 202.3.
It is determined by converting each colored mana symbol in the spell's mana cost to 1 (unless it is one of the hybrid mana symbols , each of which has a value of 2), then adding the results to the generic mana cost of the spell. (For example, spells with mana costs of
and
both have a Mana Value of 3.)
The only case in which a spell's converted mana cost can ever vary is for spells with in the mana cost. When an object with X in the mana cost is on the stack, X equals whatever value was chosen for it when it was put on the stack. In any other location, X equals 0.
Odd or even mana cost[edit | edit source]
Some cards care about if the converted mana cost is odd or even.
- Ashling's Prerogative (Lorwyn)*
- Void Winnower (Battle for Zendikar)*
- Extinction Event (Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths)*
- Gyruda, Doom of Depths (Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths)
- Lavabrink Venturer (Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths)*
- Obosh, the Preypiercer (Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths)
^* Features the reminder text: zero is even.
Cost matters[edit | edit source]
- Scryfall search: oracle:"converted mana cost"
"Cost matters" was a theme in Scourge that encouraged players to use spells with high converted mana costs. In addition to providing numerous creatures and other spells with converted mana cost 6 or greater, several cards were printed that enhanced or facilitated them.