MTG Wiki
No edit summary
(28 intermediate revisions by 8 users not shown)
Line 2: Line 2:
 
| first = Eldritch Moon
 
| first = Eldritch Moon
 
| last = Eldritch Moon
 
| last = Eldritch Moon
| noreminder = y
+
| noreminder = 1
| stats =
+
| stats = {{stats|meld|W=2|B=2|R=1|L=1}}
 
}}
 
}}
   
'''Meld''' is a [[keyword action]] introduced in ''[[Eldritch Moon]]'' and means to turn a [[Double-faced cards|Double-faced card]] upside down, if you [[control]] a second card it can meld with.
+
'''Meld''' is a [[keyword action]] introduced in ''[[Eldritch Moon]]'' and means to turn two [[meld card]]s on the back side into one [[oversized]] card, if you [[control]] the proper pair.<ref>{{DailyRef|feature/eldritch-moon-release-notes-2016-07-08|Eldritch Moon Release Notes|[[Wizards of the Coast]]|July 8, 2016 }}</ref>
   
 
==Description==
 
==Description==
  +
[[File:Hanweir.png|thumb|right|Two cards melded into one]]
The design of Meld was inspired by the Un-card <c>B.F.M. (Big Furry Monster)</c> and the unreleased mechanic [[Link]]. <ref>{{NewRef|making-magic/over-moon-part-1-2016-06-27|Over the Moon, Part 1|[[Mark Rosewater]]|June 27, 2016}}</ref>
+
The design of Meld was inspired by the Un-card <c>B.F.M. (Big Furry Monster)</c> and the unreleased mechanic [[Link]].<ref>{{DailyRef|making-magic/over-moon-part-1-2016-06-27|Over the Moon, Part 1|[[Mark Rosewater]]|June 27, 2016}}</ref>
   
Two cards that meld, change into one [[oversized]] card on the battlefield. That single card only exists on the [[card back|backs]] of the two other cards. <ref>{{NewRef|feature/eldritch-moon-mechanics-2016-06-27|Eldritch Moon Mechanics|[[Matt Tabak]]|June 27, 2016}}</ref> A '''melded''' card is one [[permanent]] represented by two cards. If it is one creature, it behaves like any other creature does. It can attack and block. It has abilities that work. It can be enchanted or equipped. You can put counters on it. And so on. You can think of it as one big card while on the battlefield and you won't be wrong. A single spell that says "Destroy target creature" takes out the whole permanent.
+
Two cards that meld change into one [[oversized]] card on the battlefield. That single card only exists on the [[card back|backs]] of the two other cards.<ref>{{DailyRef|feature/eldritch-moon-mechanics-2016-06-27|Eldritch Moon Mechanics|[[Matt Tabak]]|June 27, 2016}}</ref> A '''melded''' card is a single [[permanent]] represented by two cards. If it is one creature, it behaves like any other creature does. It can attack and block. It has abilities that work. It can be enchanted or equipped. You can put counters on it. And so on. You can think of it as one big card while on the battlefield. A single spell that says "Destroy target creature" takes out the whole permanent.
  +
  +
One of the two cards has the actual keyword action in its rules text, the other card only has the reminder text: ''Melds with (card name)''.
   
 
Whenever the melded card leaves the battlefield, both cards go, and they each turn front face up again.
 
Whenever the melded card leaves the battlefield, both cards go, and they each turn front face up again.
 
===Cards with meld===
 
===Cards with meld===
There are three cards with meld in ''Eldritch Moon''.
+
There are three cards with meld in ''Eldritch Moon''.<ref>{{DailyRef|latest-developments/stop-world-and-meld-you-2016-07-08|Stop the World and Meld with You|[[Sam Stoddard]]|July 8, 2016}}</ref>
* The [[common]] <c>Graf Rats</c> melds with <c>Midnight Scavengers</c> into <c>Chittering Host</c>
+
* The [[common]] <c>Graf Rats</c> melds with the common <c>Midnight Scavengers</c> into the common <c>Chittering Host</c>
 
* The [[rare]] <c>Hanweir Battlements</c> melds with the rare <c>Hanweir Garrison</c> into the rare <c>Hanweir, the Writhing Township</c>
 
* The [[rare]] <c>Hanweir Battlements</c> melds with the rare <c>Hanweir Garrison</c> into the rare <c>Hanweir, the Writhing Township</c>
* The rare <c>Bruna, the Fading Light</c> melds with the [[mythic]] <c>Gisela, the Broken Blade</c> into the mythic <c>Brisela, Voice of Nightmares</c>
+
* The [[mythic]] <c>Gisela, the Broken Blade</c> melds with the rare <c>Bruna, the Fading Light</c> into the mythic <c>Brisela, Voice of Nightmares</c>
   
 
==Rules==
 
==Rules==
{{CR|Meld}}
+
{{CR+G}}
{{CR|glossary|Meld}}
 
   
 
==Rulings==
 
==Rulings==
  +
* Although [[meld card]]s look similar to [[double-faced card]]s, they are not considered to be double-faced cards. They don't [[transform]]—instead, their back faces combine in pairs to form a single [[oversized]] card face.
* "Double-faced" always refers to the physical card. It is neither a characteristic nor a copiable value. For example, a token can never be a double-faced permanent even if it's a copy of one.
 
  +
* One card in each pair of meld cards has an ability that instructs you to exile the two cards and meld them. If you control more than one object with one of those names, you select one object with that name to exile.
* Each face of a double-faced card has its own name, types, subtypes, power and toughness, abilities, and so on. While a double-faced card is not on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of its front face. While a double-faced card is on the battlefield, consider only the characteristics of the face that's currently up. The other set of characteristics is ignored expect for the [[converted mana cost]]. The back face has by definition the same converted mana cost as the front face.<ref>{{NewRef|feature/shadows-over-innistrad-mechanics|Shadows over Innistrad Mechanics|[[Matt Tabak]]|March 7, 2016}}</ref>
 
  +
* When two cards are [[exile]]d and melded, they each leave the battlefield, then return together as one new untapped [[object]] with no relation to either of the objects that left the battlefield. [[Counter (marker)|Counter]]s, [[Aura]]s, [[Equipment]], and other [[effect]]s that affected those two cards don't affect the melded permanent.
* A double-faced card enters the battlefield with the front face up.
 
  +
* Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. [[Token]]s, cards that aren't meld cards, or meld cards that don't form a meld pair can't be melded. If an effect instructs a [[player]] to meld cards that can't be melded, those cards remain in exile.
* The back face of a double-faced card can't be cast.
 
  +
* While a meld card is anywhere other than the [[battlefield]], or is on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
  +
* While a melded [[permanent]] is on the battlefield, it has only the [[characteristic]]s of its combined back face. Any effects that modify how the new object enters the battlefield will consider only the combined back face.
  +
* The [[converted mana cost]] of a melded permanent is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. A creature that becomes a copy of a melded permanent has only the characteristics of that combined back face, and its converted mana cost is 0.
  +
* A player prompted to name a card may name the combined back face, and each player has the right to know that combined back face's characteristics at all times.
  +
* If an effect moves a melded permanent to a new zone and then affects "that card," it affects both cards.
  +
  +
== Trivia ==
  +
* The meld mechanic is likely based upon themes of the Body Horror genre, which involve gruesome mutations occurring to the body whether by biological, conventional, or supernatural threats, such as The Thing, Hellraiser, the Tetsuo film series, and various Cronenberg films.
  +
* In the artwork of some cards with the Meld mechanic, Emrakul's tentacles can be seen in the background before their meld form takes place, possibly foreshadowing Emrakul corrupting those in her path.
   
 
==See also==
 
==See also==
Line 38: Line 49:
 
{{Reflist}}
 
{{Reflist}}
   
  +
{{Mechanics|action}}
{{Keywords and abilities}}
 

Revision as of 16:48, 5 June 2020

Meld
Keyword Action
Introduced Eldritch Moon
Last used Eldritch Moon
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Statistics
6 meld cards
3 meld pairs
{W} 33.3% {B} 33.3% {R} 16.7% {land symbol} 16.7%
Scryfall Search
keyword:"Meld"

Meld is a keyword action introduced in Eldritch Moon and means to turn two meld cards on the back side into one oversized card, if you control the proper pair.[1]

Description

Hanweir

Two cards melded into one

The design of Meld was inspired by the Un-card B.F.M. (Big Furry Monster) and the unreleased mechanic Link.[2]

Two cards that meld change into one oversized card on the battlefield. That single card only exists on the backs of the two other cards.[3] A melded card is a single permanent represented by two cards. If it is one creature, it behaves like any other creature does. It can attack and block. It has abilities that work. It can be enchanted or equipped. You can put counters on it. And so on. You can think of it as one big card while on the battlefield. A single spell that says "Destroy target creature" takes out the whole permanent.

One of the two cards has the actual keyword action in its rules text, the other card only has the reminder text: Melds with (card name).

Whenever the melded card leaves the battlefield, both cards go, and they each turn front face up again.

Cards with meld

There are three cards with meld in Eldritch Moon.[4]

Rules

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 12, 2024—Outlaws of Thunder Junction)

Meld
To turn two members of a meld pair so their back faces are up and combined into one oversized Magic card. See rule 701.37, “Meld.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 12, 2024—Outlaws of Thunder Junction)

  • 701.37. Meld
    • 701.37a Meld is a keyword action that appears in an ability on one card in a meld pair. To meld the two cards in a meld pair, put them onto the battlefield with their back faces up and combined. The resulting permanent is a single object represented by two cards. See rule 712, “Double-Faced Cards.”
    • 701.37b Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. Tokens, cards that aren’t meld cards, or meld cards that don’t form a meld pair can’t be melded.
    • 701.37c If an effect instructs a player to meld objects that can’t be melded, they stay in their current zone.

      Example: A player owns and controls Midnight Scavengers and a token that’s a copy of Graf Rats. At the beginning of combat, both are exiled but can’t be melded. Midnight Scavengers remains exiled and the exiled token ceases to exist.

Rulings

  • Although meld cards look similar to double-faced cards, they are not considered to be double-faced cards. They don't transform—instead, their back faces combine in pairs to form a single oversized card face.
  • One card in each pair of meld cards has an ability that instructs you to exile the two cards and meld them. If you control more than one object with one of those names, you select one object with that name to exile.
  • When two cards are exiled and melded, they each leave the battlefield, then return together as one new untapped object with no relation to either of the objects that left the battlefield. Counters, Auras, Equipment, and other effects that affected those two cards don't affect the melded permanent.
  • Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. Tokens, cards that aren't meld cards, or meld cards that don't form a meld pair can't be melded. If an effect instructs a player to meld cards that can't be melded, those cards remain in exile.
  • While a meld card is anywhere other than the battlefield, or is on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.
  • While a melded permanent is on the battlefield, it has only the characteristics of its combined back face. Any effects that modify how the new object enters the battlefield will consider only the combined back face.
  • The converted mana cost of a melded permanent is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. A creature that becomes a copy of a melded permanent has only the characteristics of that combined back face, and its converted mana cost is 0.
  • A player prompted to name a card may name the combined back face, and each player has the right to know that combined back face's characteristics at all times.
  • If an effect moves a melded permanent to a new zone and then affects "that card," it affects both cards.

Trivia

  • The meld mechanic is likely based upon themes of the Body Horror genre, which involve gruesome mutations occurring to the body whether by biological, conventional, or supernatural threats, such as The Thing, Hellraiser, the Tetsuo film series, and various Cronenberg films.
  • In the artwork of some cards with the Meld mechanic, Emrakul's tentacles can be seen in the background before their meld form takes place, possibly foreshadowing Emrakul corrupting those in her path.

See also

References

  1. Wizards of the Coast (July 8, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (June 27, 2016). "Over the Moon, Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak (June 27, 2016). "Eldritch Moon Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Sam Stoddard (July 8, 2016). "Stop the World and Meld with You". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.