Nonbasic land

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Nonbasic lands are lands that do not have the basic supertype.

As per Magic rules, only 4 of each nonbasic land can be in a deck at any one time. Basic lands do not have this restriction.[1] Nonbasic lands often depict notable locations from the relevant set's style guide.[2]

Note that a nonbasic land may have a basic land type (Plains, Island, etc).

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 22, 2021—Strixhaven: School of Mages)

Nonbasic Land
Any land that doesn’t have the supertype “basic.” See rule 205.4, “Supertypes.”

Nonbasic land types[edit | edit source]

Nonbasic land types are essentially all land types which do not appear on a basic land.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (March 31, 2003). "This Land is My Land". Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Doug Beyer (February 11, 2009). "Incursion Zones". Wizards of the Coast.