MTG Wiki
For the slang term, see List of Magic slang § Pile.

A pile is a temporary grouping of magic cards.

History[ | ]

Piles were used for the Divvy-mechanic in Invasion. Divvy cards involve one or more players creating piles from ("divvying up") some set of cards, and those players' opponents making a choice regarding those piles.[1][2]

Piles have also been used for non-divvy cards: Camouflage and Raging River.

Rules[ | ]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

A temporary grouping of cards. See rule 700.3.

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 700.3. Some effects cause objects to be temporarily grouped into piles.
    • 700.3a Each of the affected objects must be put into exactly one of those piles, unless the effect specifies otherwise.
    • 700.3b Each object in a pile is still an individual object. The pile is not an object.
    • 700.3c Objects grouped into piles don’t leave the zone they’re currently in. If cards in a graveyard are split into piles, the order of the graveyard must be maintained.

      Example: Fact or Fiction reads, “Reveal the top five cards of your library. An opponent separates those cards into two piles. Put one pile into your hand and the other into your graveyard.” While an opponent is separating the revealed cards into piles, they’re still in their owner’s library. They don’t leave the library until they’re put into their owner’s hand or graveyard.

    • 700.3d A pile can contain zero or more objects.

References[ | ]