MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Powerstone
 
 

Powerstone
Powerstone
Artifact Type
(Subtype for artifact cards)
Rules {T}: Add {C}. This mana can't be spent to cast a nonartifact spell.
Statistics
1 card
{artifact symbol} 100%
43 Powerstone creation cards
{C} 4.7% {W} 9.3% {U} 25.6% {B} 9.3% {R} 16.3% {G} 4.7% {B/R} 4.7% {R/G} 4.7% {U/R} 2.3% {artifact symbol} 14% {land symbol} 4.7%
as of Alchemy: The Brothers' War
Scryfall Search
type:"Powerstone"

Powerstone is a predefined token and artifact type introduced in Dominaria United.[1][2][3][4][5]

Description[ | ]

Powerstone token

Powerstone token

Each Powerstone token has the artifact subtype “Powerstone” and the ability “{T}: Add {C}. This mana can't be spent to cast a nonartifact spell.”

Powerstones were previewed with Karn, Living Legacy and The Mana Rig in Dominaria United, but is a main mechanic in The Brothers' War.

Nontoken cards[ | ]

Cards with the Powerstone type are:

Rules[ | ]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

Powerstone Token
A Powerstone token is a colorless artifact token with “{T}: Add {C}. This mana can’t be spent to cast a nonartifact spell.” For more information about predefined tokens, see rule 111.10.

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 111.10. Some effects instruct a player to create a predefined token. These effects use the definition below to determine the characteristics the token is created with. The effect that creates a predefined token may also modify or add to the predefined characteristics.
    • 111.10a A Treasure token is a colorless Treasure artifact token with “{T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.”
    • 111.10b A Food token is a colorless Food artifact token with “{2}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: You gain 3 life.”
    • 111.10c A Gold token is a colorless Gold artifact token with “Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.”
    • 111.10d A Walker token is a 2/2 black Zombie creature token named Walker.
    • 111.10e A Shard token is a colorless Shard enchantment token with “{2}, Sacrifice this enchantment: Scry 1, then draw a card.”
    • 111.10f A Clue token is a colorless Clue artifact token with “{2}, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.”
    • 111.10g A Blood token is a colorless Blood artifact token with “{1}, {T}, Discard a card, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.”
    • 111.10h A Powerstone token is a colorless Powerstone artifact token with “{T}: Add {C}. This mana can’t be spent to cast a nonartifact spell.”
    • 111.10i An Incubator token is a transforming double-faced token. Its front face is a colorless Incubator artifact with “{2}: Transform this artifact.” Its back face is a 0/0 colorless Phyrexian artifact creature named Phyrexian Token.
    • 111.10j A Cursed Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Cursed with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature has base power and toughness 1/1.”
    • 111.10k A Monster Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Monster with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has trample.”
    • 111.10m A Royal Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Royal with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has ward {1}.”
    • 111.10n A Sorcerer Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Sorcerer with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has ‘Whenever this creature attacks, scry 1.’”
    • 111.10p A Virtuous Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Virtuous with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 for each enchantment you control.”
    • 111.10q A Wicked Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Wicked with enchant creature, “Enchanted creature gets +1/+1,” and “When this Aura is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, each opponent loses 1 life.”
    • 111.10r A Young Hero Role token is a colorless Aura Role enchantment token named Young Hero with enchant creature and “Enchanted creature has ‘Whenever this creature attacks, if its toughness is 3 or less, put a +1/+1 counter on it.’”
    • 111.10s A Map token is a colorless Map artifact token with “{1}, {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Target creature you control explores. Activate only as a sorcery.” See rule 701.40, “Explore.”
    • 111.10t A Junk token is a colorless Junk artifact token with “{T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Exile the top card of your library. You may play that card this turn. Activate only as a sorcery.”

Rulings[ | ]

  • You can use the {C} added by a Powerstone token on anything that isn't a nonartifact spell. This includes paying costs to activate abilities of both artifact and nonartifact permanents, paying ward costs, and so on.
  • Although all the cards in the Dominaria United set that create Powerstone tokens create a tapped Powerstone token, entering the battlefield tapped isn't part of the token’s definition. Notably, if you create a token that is a copy of a Powerstone token, the token copy won’t enter the battlefield tapped.

Powerstone tokens[ | ]

Token Name Color Type Line P/T Text Box Source Printings
Powerstone Colorless Artifact — Powerstone {T}: Add {C}. This mana can't be spent to cast a nonartifact spell.

References[ | ]

  1. Jess Dunks (August 26, 2022). "Dominaria United Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak (October 27, 2022). "The Brothers' War Mechanics". Magicthegathering.com.
  3. Mark Rosewater (October 31, 2022). "Act of War, Part 1". Magicthegathering.com.
  4. Mark Rosewater (November 7, 2022). "Act of War, Part 2". Magicthegathering.com.
  5. Jess Dunks (November 7, 2022). "The Brothers' War Release Notes". Magicthegathering.com.
Advertisement