|Reminder Text||Provoke (Whenever this creature attacks, you may have target creature defending player controls untap and block it if able.)|
33.3% 33.3% 33.3%
Provoke is a keyword ability on creatures that allows a player to, during their declare attackers step, untap a creature the defending player controls and require that creature to block the attacking creature with provoke. The block must still be legal, e.g. a non-flying creature cannot block a flying creature even when Provoke is used on it.
History[edit | edit source]
Tournament-legal cards with provoke were first printed in Legions. All the provoke creatures in that set have a hook element in their art. Aside of Legions, the un-card Greater Morphling is the only other card printed with Provoke, though a card named Provoke, with an ability similar to provoke, appeared in Stronghold.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that can force a creature to block. See rule 702.39, “Provoke.”
- 702.39. Provoke
- 702.39a Provoke is a triggered ability. “Provoke” means “Whenever this creature attacks, you may choose to have target creature defending player controls block this creature this combat if able. If you do, untap that creature.”
- 702.39b If a creature has multiple instances of provoke, each triggers separately.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- There's no requirement for the provoked creature to be tapped or to be able to block.
- You can choose not to force the creature to block, in which case it won't untap.
- If the provoked creature becomes tapped before the declare blockers step, it won't be able to block.
- If a creature is provoked by more than one creature, the controller of the provoked creature chooses which one it blocks.
- If the provoked creature has any costs to block, those costs don't have to be paid. If the costs are paid, the provoked creature must block the creature with provoke.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Cat Beast
Provoke (Whenever this creature attacks, you may have target creature defending player controls untap and block it if able.)
Krosan Vorine can't be blocked by more than one creature.
Creature that grants Provoke[edit | edit source]
Provoke cards before the keyword ability[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Magic Arcana (November 29, 2004). "The Hook Look of Provoke". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (July 11, 2017). "Do you think you'll ever use the Provoke mechanic again?". Blogatog. Tumblr.