|Last Used||Zendikar Rising Commander Decks|
|Reminder Text||Prowl [cost] (You may cast this for its prowl cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a [subtype].)|
Prowl is an alternative cost that appears on some Rogue creature cards. Prowl was introduced in Morningtide. You may cast a card for its prowl cost if you dealt combat damage to a player the current turn with a creature that shared a subtype with the card with Prowl. All Prowl cards have the subtype Rogue, with three Goblins and one Faerie. Prowl returned in the Zendikar Rising/Commander decks with Enigma Thief, adding Sphinx to the types.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that may allow a spell to be cast for an alternative cost. See rule 702.75, “Prowl.”
- 702.75. Prowl
- 702.75a Prowl is a static ability that functions on the stack. “Prowl [cost]” means “You may pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost if a player was dealt combat damage this turn by a source that, at the time it dealt that damage, was under your control and had any of this spell’s creature types.” Casting a spell for its prowl cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- At the time you cast a spell that has prowl, you look back over the course of the turn to check if the prowl condition has been met. What matters is whether you controlled a permanent with any of the relevant creature types at the time it dealt combat damage. It doesn't matter whether you still control the permanent or if its creature types are still the same.
- Casting a card for its prowl cost doesn't change the timing of when you can cast it. Only the cost is different.
- Although the prowl reminder text lists specific creature types, this is done for convenience only. The prowl card's current creature types are what actually matter. For example, if a card such as Conspiracy causes a prowl spell to be an Elf, then you can pay its prowl cost rather than its mana cost only if an Elf you controlled dealt combat damage to a player that turn.
- Prowl is optional. If you want, you can pay a spell's normal mana cost rather than pay its prowl cost.
- Some prowl cards have enters-the-battlefield abilities or additional effects if their prowl costs were paid. You'll get them if you cast the card by paying its prowl cost rather than its normal mana cost.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Tribal Sorcery — Rogue
Prowl (You may cast this for its prowl cost if you dealt combat damage to a player this turn with a Rogue.)
Target player loses 3 life and you gain 3 life. If Morsel Theft's prowl cost was paid, draw a card.
Trivia[edit | edit source]
- Prowl was featured as rules card 3 of 5 in the Morningtide set.
- Prowl is a 6 on the Storm Scale. It wasn't particularly popular.