|Reminder Text||Reinforce N — [cost] (Discard this card: Put N +1/+1 counters on target creature.)|
42.9% 14.3% 28.6% 14.3%
Reinforce is an activated keyword ability that functions only while the card with reinforce is in a player's hand. It was introduced in Morningtide. By 2010, it was considered a design failure. The mechanic is a modal mechanic that adds an overcosted combat trick mode, which despite the potential choices tends to be far too clear-cut as to when each side is relevant. The space of modal combat tricks was revisited in Bloodrush, which had a stronger feel but nonetheless still had a lukewarm reception.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that lets a player put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.77, “Reinforce.”
- 702.77. Reinforce
- 702.77a Reinforce is an activated ability that functions only while the card with reinforce is in a player’s hand. “Reinforce N—[cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Put N +1/+1 counters on target creature.”
- 702.77b Although the reinforce ability can be activated only if the card is in a player’s hand, it continues to exist while the object is on the battlefield and in all other zones. Therefore objects with reinforce will be affected by effects that depend on objects having one or more activated abilities.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Kithkin Soldier
Reinforce 1 — (, Discard this card: Put a +1/+1 counter on target creature.)