|Last Used||Magic Origins|
|Reminder Text||Renown N (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, if it isn't renowned, put N +1/+1 counter on it and it becomes renowned.)|
36.8% 26.3% 31.6% 5.3%
Description[edit | edit source]
Renowned is a designation with no rules meaning, similar to monstrous. Cards with renown, and others like Enshrouding Mist, reference the renowned designation. While monstrosity abilities can be activated (with no effect) if the creature is already monstrous, renown abilities do not trigger at all if the creature is already renowned. As such, renown will trigger only once per creature so long as that creature remains on the battlefield.
Renown was received well enough to return one day.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that makes a creature stronger after it deals combat damage to a player. See rule 702.112, “Renown.”
- 702.112. Renown
- 702.112a Renown is a triggered ability. “Renown N” means “When this creature deals combat damage to a player, if it isn’t renowned, put N +1/+1 counters on it and it becomes renowned.”
- 702.112b Renowned is a designation that has no rules meaning other than to act as a marker that the renown ability and other spells and abilities can identify. Only permanents can be or become renowned. Once a permanent becomes renowned, it stays renowned until it leaves the battlefield. Renowned is neither an ability nor part of the permanent’s copiable values.
- 702.112c If a creature has multiple instances of renown, each triggers separately. The first such ability to resolve will cause the creature to become renowned, and subsequent abilities will have no effect. (See rule 603.4)
- A designation given to a permanent as a result of the renown ability. See rule 702.112, “Renown.”
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Renown won't trigger when a creature deals combat damage to a planeswalker or another creature. It also won't trigger when a creature deals noncombat damage to a player.
- If a creature with renown deals combat damage to its controller because that damage was redirected, renown will trigger.
- If a renown ability triggers, but the creature leaves the battlefield before that ability resolves, the creature doesn't become renowned. Any ability that triggers "whenever a creature becomes renowned" won't trigger.
- A creature that's renowned stays renowned until it leaves the battlefield, even if it somehow loses all its +1/+1 counters.
- A creature with renown and double strike will become renowned after dealing first-strike damage to a player, so it will receive +1/+1 counters before dealing regular combat damage.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Human Soldier
Renown 1 (Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, if this creature is not renowned, put a +1/+1 counter on it and it becomes renowned.)
When Relic Seeker becomes renowned, you may search your library for an Equipment card, reveal it, put it into your hand, then shuffle your library.
References[edit | edit source]
- Matt Tabak (June 22, 2015). "Magic Origins Mechanics Article". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (July 8, 2015). "Magic Origins Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (August 20, 2020). "I'm surprised Renown hasn't been used again". Blogatog. Tumblr.