MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Scavenge
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Return to Ravnica
Last Used New Capenna Commander
Reminder Text Scavenge [cost] (Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)
Storm Scale 4[1]
Statistics
15 cards
{B} 26.7% {G} 46.7% {B/G} 26.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Scavenge"

Scavenge is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica as the mechanic for the Golgari guild.[2] Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with scavenge. It basically reads as a variation on flashback that increases the stats of target creature.

Description[]

Scavenge is an activated ability that functions only while the card with scavenge is in a graveyard. “Scavenge [cost]” means “[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the power of the card you exiled on target creature. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”

History[]

Scavenge has appeared in Standard only in the block it debuted in, with low representation of future designs Maro's assessment of its Storm Scale is a middling 4, citing its graveyard gameplay and medium popularity. Its biggest downside is likely its narrow gameplay rewards, as the mechanic is weak to fast decks, hard removal and creature-generating value engines.

The first set after the Return to Ravnica block to feature Scavenge was Commander 2020 (Boneyard Mycodrax), then once in Modern Horizons 2 (Bannerhide Krushok). It also appeared as a one-off in the Streets of New Capenna Commander decks (Dodgy Jalopy), on the only possible way to put it on a noncreature spell - a Vehicle.

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

Scavenge
A keyword ability that allows you to exile a creature card from your graveyard to put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.97, “Scavenge.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (April 29, 2022—Streets of New Capenna)

  • 702.97. Scavenge
    • 702.97a Scavenge is an activated ability that functions only while the card with scavenge is in a graveyard. “Scavenge [cost]” means “[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the power of the card you exiled on target creature. Activate only as a sorcery.”

Rulings[]

  • Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it's too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.

Examples[]

Example

Dreg Mangler {1}{B}{G}
Creature — Plant Zombie
3/3
Haste
Scavenge {3}{B}{G} ({3}{B}{G}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)

References[]

Advertisement