MTG Wiki
Advertisement
MTG Wiki
6,146
pages
Soulshift
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Champions of Kamigawa
Last Used Saviors of Kamigawa
Reminder Text Soulshift N (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with mana value N or less from your graveyard to your hand.)
Statistics
27 cards
{W} 18.5% {B} 33.3% {G} 48.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Soulshift"

Soulshift is a triggered ability on some Spirit creatures found in Champions of Kamigawa. The ability allows a player to return a, typically, less expensive Spirit card from their graveyard to their hand.

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 24, 2021—Innistrad: Midnight Hunt)

Soulshift
A keyword ability that lets a player return a card from their graveyard to their hand. See rule 702.46, “Soulshift.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (September 24, 2021—Innistrad: Midnight Hunt)

  • 702.46. Soulshift
    • 702.46a Soulshift is a triggered ability. “Soulshift N” means “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may return target Spirit card with mana value N or less from your graveyard to your hand.”
    • 702.46b If a permanent has multiple instances of soulshift, each triggers separately.

Rulings[]

  • The soulshift number tells you the maximum converted mana cost of the Spirit card you can target.
  • You choose whether or not to return the targeted creature card when the ability resolves.

Examples[]

Example 1

Thousand-legged Kami {6}{G}{G}
Creature — Spirit
6/6
Soulshift 7 (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost 7 or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Example 2

Forked-Branch Garami {3}{G}{G}
Creature — Spirit
4/4
Soulshift 4, soulshift 4 (When this creature dies, you may return up to two target Spirit cards with converted mana cost 4 or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Example 3

Kodama of the Center Tree {4}{G}
Legendary Creature — Spirit
*/*
Kodama of the Center Tree’s power and toughness are each equal to the number of Spirits you control.
Kodama of the Center Tree has soulshift X, where X is the number of Spirits you control. (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost X or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Advertisement