MTG Wiki
Advertisement
MTG Wiki
6,148
pages
Spell Mastery
Ability Word
Introduced Magic Origins
Last Used Commander 2020
Typical Text Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
Statistics
17 cards
{W} 17.6% {U} 23.5% {B} 23.5% {R} 17.6% {G} 17.6%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Spell Mastery"

Spell mastery is an ability word that gives a card different or additional characteristics if its controller has 2 or more instant or sorcery cards in their graveyard.[1]

Description[]

Introduced in Magic Origins, the mechanic was featured on a vertical cycle of instants and sorceries in each color, plus on another common in black and blue.

Spell mastery is written as "Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, static ability, self-replacement, activated ability, and/or triggered ability."

Spell mastery was received well enough to return one day.[2] Some permanents have been printed with similar designs but variable counts without the ability word, in Ghitu Lavarunner(two), Curious Homunculus, Spelleater Wolverine(three), Magmatic Channeler(four), and Octavia, Living Thesis (eight).

Rulings[]

  • Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won't count because it's still on the stack as you make this check.

Examples[]

Example

Ravaging Blaze {X}{R}{R}
Instant
Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.
Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.

References[]

  1. Matt Tabak (June 22, 2015). "Magic Origins Mechanics Article". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (August 20, 2020). "I'm surprised Renown hasn't been used again". Blogatog. Tumblr.
Advertisement