Talk:Mana cost

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Casting cost not strictly equivalent to mana cost[edit source]

A few notes. First, remember that spells may have additional, non-mana costs. The rules refer to the sum of all costs as the total cost. Also, casting cost is still common vernacular for the mana cost, which probably deserves mention, rather than simply dismissing "casting cost" as an obsolete term (even Wizards has used the term recently). --Corveroth (talk) 19:14, 23 December 2015 (UTC)

I agree with your argument however the up to date comprehensive rules say that casting cost and mana cost are strictly equivalent, except for the difference that casting cost is obsolete.
Casting Cost (Obsolete) - An obsolete term for mana cost. Cards printed with this text have received errata in the Oracle card reference.
Total Casting Cost (Obsolete) - An obsolete term for converted mana cost. Cards printed with this text have received errata in the Oracle card reference. - Yandere Sliver H09 symbol.png 21:25, 23 December 2015 (UTC)
Actually I found what you mean... It is simply knows as cost. Both sides now link to each other. - Yandere Sliver H09 symbol.png 23:00, 24 December 2015 (UTC)