MTG Wiki
Advertisement
Training
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Innistrad: Crimson Vow
Last Used Innistrad: Crimson Vow
Reminder Text Training (Whenever this creature attacks with another creature with greater power, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)
Statistics
9 cards
{W} 44.4% {G} 44.4% {G/W} 11.1%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Training"

Training is a keyword ability introduced in Innistrad: Crimson Vow for Humans of Innistrad. It can only be found on creatures.

Description[]

When a creature with Training attacks alongside a creature of greater power, you may place a +1/+1 counter on it.[1] It is reminiscent of Mentor, but with the recipient and condition swapped and with no target clause. The lack of targeting has various rules implications.

The powers of the attacking creatures are checked only at the moment they attack. Once the training ability triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the other creature, nor does it matter what happens to the power of either creature. As long as the creature with training is still on the battlefield as the training ability resolves, it will get the +1/+1 counter, even if its power is now equal to or greater than the other creature, it's no longer attacking, or even if the other creature is no longer on the battlefield.

Having more trainers doesn't cause training to trigger additional times.

Training mirrors the Mentor mechanic.[2]

Rules[]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 19, 2021—Innistrad: Crimson Vow)

Training
A keyword ability that means “Whenever this creature and at least one other creature with power greater that this creature’s power attack, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.” See rule 702.149, “Training.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 19, 2021—Innistrad: Crimson Vow)

  • 702.149. Training
    • 702.149a Training is a triggered ability. “Training” means “Whenever this creature and at least one other creature with power greater than this creature’s power attack, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.”
    • 702.149b If a creature has multiple instances of training, each triggers separately.
    • 702.149c Some creatures with training have abilities that trigger when they train. “When this creature trains” means “When a resolving training ability puts a +1/+1 counter on this creature.”

Rulings[]

  • A creature's training ability triggers only when both that creature and a creature with greater power are declared as attackers. Increasing a creature's power after attackers are declared won't cause a training ability to trigger.[3]
  • Once a creature's training ability has triggered, destroying the other attacking creature or reducing its power won't stop the creature with training from getting a +1/+1 counter.

Examples[]

Example

Gryff Rider {2}{W}
Creature — Human Knight
2/1
Flying
Training (Whenever this creature attacks with another creature with greater power, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.)

References[]

  1. Matt Tabak (October 28, 2021). "Innistrad: Crimson Vow Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (November 8, 2021). "From Vow On, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Wizards of the Coast] (November 10, 2021). "Innistrad: Crimson Vow Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
Advertisement